The words you are searching are inside this book. To get more targeted content, please make full-text search by clicking here.

Hunt's Directory of Dorsetshire - 1851
Iincluding parts of Hampshire, Wiltshire & Somersetshire

Discover the best professional documents and content resources in AnyFlip Document Base.
Search
Published by Colin Savage, 2018-08-10 06:51:40

DORSETSHIRE - 1851

Hunt's Directory of Dorsetshire - 1851
Iincluding parts of Hampshire, Wiltshire & Somersetshire

HUNT & CO.'S DIRECTORY

OF

D OR SET SHIRE,

WITH PART OF

RANTS AND WILTS;

COMPRISING COMPREHENSIVE

LISTS OF THE COMMERCIAL, PROFESSIONAL,
AND PRIVATE RESIDENTS

IN EVERY VILLAGE, TOWN AND HAMLET

THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE

COUNTY OF DORSE~

LIKEWISE IN THE

CITY OF SALISBURY,

AND THE CIRCUMJACENT TOWNS OV

CHRISTCHURCH, DOWNTON, FORDINGBRIDGE1
HINDON, LYMINGTON, MERE, RINGWOOD,
ROMSEY AND WILTON,

.AND IN NUMEROUS INTERVENING VIU.AGES;

ALSO OF

THE CITY OF BRIS~rOL,

AND THE TOWNS OF

AXBRIDGE, BRUTON, BURNHAM, CASTLE C.A.RY, CHARD,
CLEVEDON, CREWKERNE, GLASTONBURY,

ILCHESTER, ILMINSTER, LANGPORT, MARTOCK,
SHEP'l'ON-MALLET, SOMERTON,

WEIJ.S, W.ESTON-SUPER-MA.RE, WINCANTON & YEOVIL.

a TOGETHER WITH

me~etipttbe account of eatb ~own,

AN EPITOME OF EACH VILLACE,

Particulars of Carriers, Coaches, Railroads, and Water Convey·
ances; Postal .Arrangements and other Useful Information.

.~~--

18 51.

PRINTED FOR E. HUNT & Co.

PRACTICAL PUBLISHERS OF PROVINCIAL DIRECTORIES;

By B. W. GA.:aDINJ:a., Royal Blue Book Office, Princea Stree&,
Cavendillh Square, London

• Price NiM Shilling•.

ADDRESS.

There are some subjects on which a writer cannot ex{>ect to ac-
quire renown; he must, therefore, be satisfied if he 1s usefully
employed, and receives the approbation of his readers.

Dr. Johnson justly remarks, that "in all places, where there
are objects worthy of detail or observation, there should he a
short printed Directory,for the use of the Stranger."

\Vhat Dr. Johnson sugaested in past times, the Publishers have

endeavoured to accomplish in the present Volume, by giving short,
but pers icuous descriptions of each Town, and an el?itome of each

cial and private esidents; and correct particulars of Carriers,
Coaches, Railroads, and Water Conveyances ; the whole forming

a Guide for the Stranger, and a Book of ready reference for the
Resident.

Accuracy being the grand requisite of a Directory, and authen-
ticity the most valuable feature m a Topography, all possible care
has been taken to ensure correctness, every house has been visited
and the information either collected or verified on the spot ; it is
therefore presumed that the following pages are as free from errors
as is compatible with the vast body of information and the great
variety of subjects compressed within their respective limits.

In presenting this DIRECTORY to the Public, the Authors feel a
pleasure in returning their sincere thanks to their numerous Patrons
for the very liberal encouragement they have been pleased to bestow
upon them. They also beg leave to acknowledge the courtesy with
which they and their Agents have been received while collecting the
necessary materials; and tender their grateful acknowledgments to
those Gentlemen who have contributed so largely from their valuable
stores of local information, to which is att~ble, in a great measure,
its general accuracy. They would moreover observe that they
propose publishing a new edition as soon as sufficient time has elapsed
to render a repetition of their efforts necessary.

LONDON, 1851.

REFERENCES TO THE CONTENTS.

For lnde:» to places in DoRSET see &ucceeding pages.
T/,e Index to places in HA.NTS and WILTS follows page

248.

The Index to the Towns in SoMERSET follows WINKTON,

page 88, at the finish of the RANTS and WILTS portion.

BRISTOL, CLIFTON, HoTWELLS, &c. follows YEoVIL at

the end of SoMERSET towns.

PROSPECTUSES & CARDS OF MERCANTILE ESTABLISHMENTS.

End of the Volume.

INDEX TO PLACES IN DORSETSHIRE.

PAGE. PAGE.

ABBOTSBURY.. • • • • • • • • • • • • 6 Bryants Puddle. .. .. .. •.. . .. 8

Abbots Stoke. • • • • . . • • • • • • • 187 Bryanstone .••••••. , • • • • • • 50

Admistoll' . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 52 Buckhom W eston. • • • . • . • . • 50

Affpuddle ..•••••.•• , . • • . • 8 Buckland Newton...... • • . . 51

Alderholt • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • 73 Buckland Ripers . • . • • • . . . . 52

Allington . . . . • • . • . • . . . • . • • 37 Burleston • • • • • • • . . . . • • . • 52

Aimer . . .. . . . • •.. • . . . • . . . . 9 Burstock ............... . 52

.i\.lson. . . . • • . • . . . • • • . . . . . . 60 Burton Bradstock ....••••.. 53

Alton Paneras. . . . . . . . . . • • • • 9

Anderson. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 9 Canford Magna • • • .. . .. . .. 53

Arne ..••................ 10 Cann . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . 54

Ashmore . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . 10 Castleton . • • • • • • • . . . • . . • • 173

Askerswell. . . . • • •• . . . • . • • • 10 Catherston Lewston .....• , • 54

Axeknoller ......• _• • . . . • . . 12 Cattistock .... , . . . . • . • • . . . 55

Caundle Bishop • • . . . • . . • . . 55

Baghere, ..• · · ........... . 10 Caundle Marsh • • . . . . . • • • . . 56

Batcombe .......... , .... . 11 Caundle Purse • • . . . . . . . • . • 56
BEAMINSTER •••••••••••• 11 CERNE-ABBAS • • • • • • • • • • • 56

Beer Hacket ..•....•...••• 16 Chaldron East.... • • •• . .. • 87

Belchalwell .. . ......... .. 17 : Chaldron Herring • •.. . . • • . . 87

Benville ............ , .... . 72 !Chardstock. . . • • . . • . • • • . • . • 60

Bere Regis .••..•..••.... 17) Charlborough............... 60

Bettiscombe • • • • . . . . . . • .• 19 : Charlbury .. .. .. . .. . .. . . .. 60

Bincombe ............... . 19 Charlton Marshall.... • • • • . . 62

Birdsmore Gate ........... . 49 Charminster • . • • . . • • • . • . . 62

Blackdown . ......·.......•. 49 Charmouth. . .. .. . . . . • • • • . . 63

BLAND FORD . •••••••••••••• 19 Cheddington .. . .. .. . .. .. 64

Blandford St Mary ........•• 'J-7 Cheselborne .. , • • • . . . . . . . • 65

Bloxworth • • . . ...•...••.. 28 Chetnole . . • . . • • . • • . •• • • 65

Hothenhampton .....•....•• 28 Chettle . • • . . • • . . - • • . . . . 65

Bourton ................. . 28 Chidcock ......... , .. .. • 65

Boveridge .............•..• 73 Chilcombe . .. .. • • . .. .. .. . 66

Bradford Abbas. . . .. • •.. .. • 29 •Child Okeford .. • .. • • • • .. 67

Bradford Peverell .......•.• 30 Chilfrome ••...•• •*'•. . • • • • 67
Bradpole ....... , ........ . 30 Church Knowle ...••• · ·.... 67

Bredy-Little • . • •.......• 31 Clifton Maybank • • . • . • • •• 67

Bredy . Long........ - ..••••• 31 Combe Keynes • • • . . . . . • • . • 68
BRID PORT ................. . 32 Compton Abbas ••.•...•. , . . 68

Bt·oadmayne ••....••.••.•. 48 Compton Abbas .•••..•••••• 209

Broadway . . . . .......... . 48 Compton Nether........... 68

Broadwinsor •..•••••••••••• 49 Compton-Over • • . • • • • . • • 69

Brockhampton • , •.••...... 51 , Corfe Castle .. .. • • . . .. . . • • 69

INDEX TO PLACES IN DORSETSHIRE.

PAGE. PAGE.

Corfe Mullen.............. 71 Haselbury Bryan . . . . . . . . . • lOO

Corscombe • • . • • • . • • • . • . . • 72 Hawkchurch • . • . . • . • . . • • 101

Cranbome ... .-. . . . . . . . . . . 72 Haydon . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 102

Cro\\·ley.... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 60 Henstridge (Somerset). . • . . • 10'2

Hermitage . . • . • •• • . . . . • . 103

Dentish ..••••........•.•. 51 Hillfield .. .. .. • • • .. . • • • .. • 103

Dewlish . . . . ...... . • ••• 74 Hilton • .. .. . .. . .. . .. • • . • .. 103

Dibberford. . . . . . •........ . 49 Hinton Martell • • • • . . . . • • • • 104
DoacnEsTER •••••••••••••• 74 Hinton Parva . ~ . . • • . . .. • • • • 104

Drimpton... . . ........... . 49 Hinton St. .Mary • • • • . . • . • . 104

Durweston • . . • . . . . . . . . . .. 86 Holnest .•••••....•.•• :. . • 104

87East Chaldron •.•••.•••... Hook . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 105

Hortotl . I05I • • • • • • • • • • • • •
••

East Chelborough .•.•...•.. 87
East Fleet ............... . 87 lbberton . ............ I •••• 105
East H( .Jme . . . . . . . . .... . 87 I werne Courtney ....•...•. 106
East Lulworth •.......•.•• 87 I weme Minster. . • . . . ... , • 106
East Morden . • • • ...•.••.. 88

East Orchard. • • • • . • . • . .. . 89 Kime1idge ............. . 107
F~ast Pulham . ............ . 162 Kingcombe Higher •••.•.•. 200

East Stoke . ....... , ....... . 89 Kingcombe Lower •••••... 200

East Stour ............... . 89 Kmgton Magna •...•....... 107
Kinso~~: . . . . . . . . . . .. . ..
Edmondsham . . . . . . . . . • . . . . 90 107
Enmore Green •.•• .....•... Knighton . . . . . . . . . . ..... 108
132

Evershot •................. 90 Knowl . . . . . . I • • • • • • • • 51

Ewerne ................. . 106

Langdon . . . . .......... . 12
Fartiliam ............... . 91 Langton.. • . . . .•.•.....•• 108
Fifehead Magdalene .•...... 91 Langton Herring .•.....••. 109
Fifehead Neville .......••. 91 Langton Matravers ••••.... 109
F1eet East . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 87 Leigh ... 109~If .............. .
Folke . . . . . . . . . . . . ...... . 91 Lillington .. .. .. .. ........ . llO

Fontmell Magna •.•.•...•• 92 Little Bredy .••••.......•• 31

Fordington .. ..........••.. 77 Little Canford ........... . 9~

Frampton ... ~ ........... . 93 Little Hinton .•••....•••. 104

Frome St. Quiutin ••.•..••• 93 Little W insor •••......... 49
Litton Cheney • ••• • • . •. llO
GtLLINGHAM • • • •••.•••••• 93 Imers ••.........••.•.•• 111

God.manstone . ............ . 96 Long Bredy •......•.•..• 32

Great Critchell ....••••..•• 130 ~ Longburton ..•••••.••••.. ll2

!Guss~ge-all-Saints , , •.••••• f17 Long Critchell ..•.•...•.•• 112

Gussage St. Michael ..•.••.. 97 Longfl!:'et • . ..•••••...•..• 143

Long Ham .............. . 98

Hals~ock .................. . 97 LYM E REGIS ............. . 113

Hammon ................ . 98 Lyndlinch .............. .. 112
Hampreston •••.•...•..... 98 Lyons Gate ..••..••..•... 130
Hamworthy • • ..•.••.•.•• 99 ~ Lytchett Matravers •••••••• 121
.•....•... ~
Handley . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 99; Lytchett Minster 121



I~DEX TO PLACES IN DORSETSHIRE.

. PAGE. PAGe,

Maiden Newton • • • . . • • • • 12"2 Piddletown ... o.. • • • • • .. • • • • 138

1\'lanston . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 123 Piddletrenthide • • . . . . . • . • . • 139

Mapperton • ••• . • • • . • • • • . • 9 P1lsdon •••. o •••• o •••• o •• o 140

Mapperton South ......... 123 Pimperne •• , •• o •••••• o • • 1-!0

Mappowder . • • .. • .. .. .. .. 124 Plush . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . 51

124Marnhull • - .• 0 •••••• o • • • • 140Pokeswell •• o • • • • • • • • • • • • •

Marsh . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12 PooLE . • • . • • • • . . . . . . • • . . 141
Marshwood o •••••• o • • • • • 125 Poorstock • • • . • • • • • • • • • • • 154

Meerhay . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . 12 Portisham .. . • • • .. • • • • • .. 155
Melbury Abbas ••.. o. • • •• • 125 Portland, flsle of) ........... 156

Melbury Bubb .••..••• o • • • 126 Poxwell ....·.. . • . . . . . . . . . . 140

)felbury Osmond .•. o •• o • • • 126 Preston . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . 161

1\lelbury Sarnpford, • • • • . . • . • 126 Pulliam ....... , . . . . . . . . • . 162

~lelcombe Horsey . . . . . . • . • 126 Punckowle o... . . . o. .. •. 162

Melplaish • • • • • • . . • . . • • . . 133 Purse Caundle ••..• o • • • • • • 56

Middlemarsh ........ o o. o •• 130

Milborne Port (Somerset) .•.• 127 Radipole . . . . . . . . . . . ..... . 162

Milborne St. Andrew • . • •.. • 129 Rampi"ham ...........•... 163
Milton Abbas ............ 129 Rogers hill . .............. . 8
o...Minterne Magua ..••.•
130 Ryme Intrinseca •.....••.•• 164

Minterne Parva . • o •• o • • .. 51

Monckton-up-Wirnborne . o • • 73 Sandhills . . . ............ . 55

More Critchell •••••. o • • • • • 130 :S' HAFTESBURY , .•• , o • , •• o • 164

1\Ioreton. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1~11 Sl1ap\vick.. . . . . . . . . . . . . ... 171
131 171Mosterton .. o •••••• o • • • • • •
SHERBORNE. • • . • . ••.••••••

Motcombe ..• o ••• , • o • o • • • • 132 Shillingstone ........•.•.•• 181

Shilling Okeford ..•.•.•. o o 181

Netherbury ...•...• o o • o o • 133 Shipton Gorge ..........• 182
Nether ('_.,erne .•........ o ••• 135 Silton .................. . 182
Nether Compton . o o. • •••• 68 South Mapperton ......•• o •• 123
Nettleeombe •• o. o o •••••• o. 154 South Pen·ott •...•• o ••• o • 182

Nurtl! Mapperton .•.•...... 12 South Poorton ............ .. 183

North Poorton ........... . 135 Spetisbury. . • . . . . . . . . . • . o 183
North Wootton . o • o •••••••• 135 STALBRIDGE •••·•••••••••• 18:3

Stanton St. Gabt iel. ...... . 185

Oakerswood . . . .............. . 8 Steeple . . • • . . . ..........• 185
Obortle . . . . ............. . 136 St. Mar~ar~t's Marsh .• o •••• }!:)6
Okeford Fitzpaine. 0 •••••• o • 136 Stinsford . . . . . . . . . . . . • •. 186

Osmin~ton. . . . ......... . 136 Stock Gaylard • . . . . • . . . . 186

Over L:ornpton ..•.•••..... 69 Stockwood ................ . 186

-Ower l\Iayne ....•..•. o :- • • 137 Stoke ...•................ 186

Stoke Abba.~ . . . . . o •••••••• 187

Pallington .•.•...••••... o • 8 Stoke Wake ••••... o •••••• 187

Parnhatn .......•.•...... 12 Stourpaine ..............•. 187
Parkstone ......••........ 143 Stour Provost • . . o ••••• o •• 188

Penny's Toiler •.• o •• o • • • • 72 StourtonCaundle .......... . 188

Pentridge ............... . 137 Stratton ........•.....•..• 189
Piddlehiuton .•. o • • • • • , o •• 137 Studland . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 189

INDEX TO PLACES IN DORSETSHIRF..

,.. PAGE. PAGE.

~TU;RMINSTER • , •.••• , • , , , , 190 West Allington •••.. --. . . • . . 37

Sturminster Marshall. . . . • .• 189 West Chelborough . . . . • • . • 208

Sutton Po~tz ••••••••• , •• 161 West Chickerell . . . . • . . • • • . • ~09

Sutton Waldren .......... . 193 West Compton •.••••• , • • • 209

SwANAGE ••••••••••••••••• 193 West Knighton ..••••••••. 108

Swyre . . . . . . . • . . . . . • . . ..• 195 West Lulworth •· •••...••••• 209

Sydling St. Nicholas ••••••.• 195 West Milton ............... 210

SJIOondsbu~·············· 195 West Orchard ..... ~. .. • .. 210
West Parley • • . • .. , .. .. .. 210

Tarrant Urawford ....•••••• 196 West Stafford ........... 210

Tarrant Gunville..•. ••••••• 196 WestStour ................ 210

Tarrant Hinton ............ . 197 West Tyneham ••.••...•••• 201

Tarrant Keynston ••..•••.•• 197 WEYMOUTH ............. 211

Tarrant Launceston • •. • . •. 197 \Vhitchurch Canonicorum ...• 229

Tarrant Monkton •••••••.•• 197 Whitc:ombe • • • • .. . . .. .. . . 231

Tarrant Rawston .......... . 197 WHtiBORNE. , ••.• , ........ , . 231

Tarrant Rushton .•..••.•••• 198 Wimborne St. Giles • • • • • . • • 238

Tl1omson ................. . 198 Winford Eagle ............ 239

Thorncombe ••.•.••••••••• 198 Winfrith Newburgh .•.••.•• 239

Thornford . ............... . 199 Winterbourne Abbas •••••.•. 239

Thornhill ••••.•••••••.•.• 199 Winterbourne Anderstone. • . • 9

Tinkleton . . ............ . 199 \Vinterbourne Came. . • • . • • • 240

Todber .....•..••........ 200 Winterboume Clenstone ••.• 240

Toiler Fratrum .••••.••••.. 200 \Vinterbourne Hough ton ..• , 240

Toller Porcorum . • • . • • • • • • 200 Winterbourne Kingston..••.• '240

Tolpuddle. •. . • . . • • • . • . . . • • 201 Winterbourne Monckton . . • • 240

Tamer's Puddle .•••• ·• . • • • • • 201 Winterboume St. Martin's • • 241

1'urnworth ............... . 201 Winterbourne Steepleton ..•• 241

Tyneham . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . 201 Winterboume Stickland....... 241

Winterboume Thomson ...... 198

Up. Lyme ............... . ll5 Winterbourne Whitchurch •• 242

Upper Cerne ......... ; ... . 20'2 Winterbourne Zel<stone. . • • • • 242

Upper S.y.d.l.i.n.g.....•.........••.•...•. . 195 Witchampton . • • • • • • • . . . • 242
202 Wollands • • . • . . . . • . . . . . • 243
Upway .

Woodlands ................ 243

Ver\\"ood ......••........ 73 W oodsford • • . . • • .. • • • • .. • 243

Wool . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 243

\Vaddock ................ . 8 Wootton Fitzpaine • • • . • . . . 244

\Valldi tch ••••••• • • • •• 202 W ootton Glanville. . • • • . • • . . 244

\Vambrook. • • • . • • • • • . • • . • • 202 Worth Matravers. • . . . • . • . . 244

Wansley . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12 Wraxall . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 245

\VAREHAM ............... 203 Wyke Regis ............. 245

Warmwell . • • • . . • • . . • .. • • . 208 ~

\Vaytown .. • . . .. .. •• •• .. 133 1 Yetminster.. . . . . .. .. .. . .. . 248

HUNT .AND CO.'S DIRECTORY.

DORSETSIIIRE.

DORSETSHIRE is a maritime county in the south western
portion of the kingdom, bounded on the north by Wiltshire
and Somersetshire, on the east by Hampshire, the west by
Devonshire, and on the south by the English channel. In
form it is somewhat pyramidical, the northern boundary
jutting up into a high peak-like ascent; the opposite line-
the sea-shore has numerous points, bays and headlands;
about the centre of this boundary is an insulated portion
forming that rocky promontory known as the Isle of Port-
land. From north to south this county extends about 35

miles, and in breadth, id est, from east to west, about 55

miles; in circumference it is 160 miles; and it is calculated
as having an area of 1,005 square miles or 643,000 statute
Heres, About one ninth part of the land is waste, one
third arable and the rest pasture. In size Dorset is below
the average of English counties; Templeman, in his ' Survey
of the~Globe' says it is considerably larger thau the Duchy
of Mantua in Italy, about the same extent as the Dutch
province of Guelderland and exactly of the same size as the
1sland of Madeira.

According to Roman historians the ancient inhabitants of

this county were called Durotriges, a word derived from the
ancient British tongue, dour, or drvr, denoting water, and
trigo, to dwell, thus signifying dwellers by the water or the
sea coast. By the Saxons it was called Dorsatta. It was

at one period imagined that this county took its name from
Dorchester, the county town, but this appears to be a fanci-
ful derivation not supported by any authentic records.

Under the Roman government it formed part of Britannia

Prima. But when the Saxons, commanded by Ceoric,

landed in the west of England, they established ~the third
Saxon kingdom in Britain which iocluded this county, with
Hants, Wilts, Berks, and the Isle of Wight. lt was in

B

DORSETSHIRE. [Ht1NT A.ND CO.'I

opposing this invasion that the celebrated Prince Arthur

acquired his fame. In 1001 Sweyne king of Denmark-

burning with revenge for the atrocitiE-s committed upon his
countrymen by order of that short-sighted and cruel monarch
Etheldred, who formed the desperate resolution of putting
all the Danes to the sword--landed at Exeter, and on his
march from that city to Wilton destroyed the towns of Dor-
chester, Clifton, Sherborne and Shaftesbury. During the

struggle between Charles I. and his parliament, most of the

higher classes favoured the royal cause, for which they suf-
fered severely from the dominant party ; the poorer classes
generally supported the republic. It, however, was one of the
last counties that yielded to Cromwell and his forces. In
1685 the Duke of Monmouth landed at Lyme Regis in his
attf'mpt to dethrone James II., but this ill-fated expedition
terminated in his (Monmouth's) destruction and that of his
party, and they experienced no mercy from that 'blood-
thirsty man' Judge Jeffries. Three years after Monmouth's
attempt, better success attended the Prince of Orange, who
landed with his troops at Lyme, Torbay, and other places
upon the coast, encamping with his army near Exeter.

Many British remains are visible throughout this county,
such as cromlechs, cai1·ns, and ban·orvs, and the sites of
Roman encampments are numerous ; near Dorchester is a
Roman amphitheatre in a very perfect state, about 2 miles
south from this is ' Maiden Castle,' an immense camp,
covering an area of one hundred and fifteen acres, while in
almost every direction the horizon is dimmed by the outline
of tumuli or barrows, which by most antiquarians are
considered to have been cemeteries, while other writers
have thought they were used as watch towers, serving
as points of communication betwet'n the variou:; encamp-
ments. The old Roman road, or Icening street, entered
this county near •Woodyates Inn' crossing over the down
tl) Blandford on to Long Critchell, here Dr. Stukeley lost
all traceg of it, but Mr. Hutchins resumed the search and
followed it to the confines of Devonshire. The Roman
stations in this county were Londinis (Lyme Regis) Canca
Arixa (Charmouth), Vindogladia (Wimborne), Clavinio
~'Veymouth), Morinio (Wareham), and Bolclaunio (Poole).
It is evident, from the many antiquities discovered, that this
county was peopled long prior to the Roman invasion, most

DIRECTORY.] DORSETSHIRE. 3

of these remnants of ' byegone ages' have been discovered
and lucidly explained by Dr. Stukely, and the Rev. 1\Ir.
Hutchins, especially the latter, whose valuable topography
of this county is highly appreciated.

The surface of this county is extremely uneven, some of it
is hilly but not elevated to any great height Swyre hill, the
highest point being but 669 feet above the level of the sea.
The downs, its chief feature, are open and uninclosed, and
many of them are covered with numerous flocks of sheep,
but others have been brought into cultivation. Dorchester
is the centre of a large sheep-ff'eding district; in the vale
of Blackmoor vast numbers of cattle and sheep are also gra-

zed ; this valley is also celebraterl for good orchards and rich
cider. There are some good arable lands towards the north
upon the confines of Somerset, but the southern portion,
bordering upon Hampshire and the sea-coast, and extending
almost to Dorchester, a space of20 miles in length and 4 in
breadth, is heathy common. An eutire range of chalk hills
runs east and west throughout the centre of the county ;
on the south side of these are open rlowns gradually declining
into luxuriant valleys. The soils are various; in the western
district, and also the low lands in the centre of the county,
are deep rich loams, on the north are several substrata for-
mations, such as lime-stone, stone-brash, &c., the latter is
also the prevailing character in the southern-part, extend-
ing to the Isle of Portland. Chalk forms the substrata ofthe
downs, which are generally covered with a remarkable fine
grassy turf. On the meadow-land irrigation is much resorted to;
by this means, early vegetation which is of such vital im-
portance to the farmer and grazier is effected, indeed with-
out it the present management of sheep could not be
carried out. The principal PRODUCTIONS of this county
are corn, cattle, sheep, wool, timber, butter, flax, and hemp,
the number of sheep reared is almost incredible, and it
is said that 500,000 are annually exported, they are much
esteemed for their flesh and fleece, as also are the ewes

for bringing earl) lambs. Iu the isle of Portland is a

remarkabl) small breed of sheep, this mutton is highly
prized by the epicure. \Vheat is not generally a heavy crop
in this county, but it yields barley abundantly, this cereal,
with the excellent water obtained, accounts for the strong
beer and famous ales for which this county is noted ; it is

4 DORSETSHI RE. LHUNT AND co.'s

also celebrated for its dairies, and much butter is sent to
the London and other markets, where from its superior
quality it generally commands good prices and finds ready
purchasers. Almost every variety of fish are taken off the
coast, and in the season immense shoals of mackarel and
occasionally herrings are found near Abbotsbury and beside
the sea shore from Portland to Bridport; these furnish
a bountiful harvest to the fisherman, large quantities being
taken and sent off to various inland towns. In the stratal
formations uf this country neither coal or ores are found,
but among the mineral productions is the slaty bituminous
coal of Purbeck, which burns with a bright lively flame, but
like the Bovey coal in Devon, it emits so disagreeable a
smell that it is only used as fuel by the poorer classes.
Works have lately been erected at Wareham for the extrac-
tion of oil from it. The quarries of Purbeck and Portland
are well known, from the latter Sir Christopher Wren con-
structed St. Paul's Cathedral and Whitehall; this stone is
white and solid, and can be easily cut in any direction, it
will stand the weather well and is not affected by water, thus
rendering it peculiarly adapted for piers of bridges, &c•.
indeed no stone could be more suitable than it for that
national work, the Portland breakwater and Victoria har-
bour of Refuge now erecting (see Portland). Both Purbeck
and Portland stone were extensively used tor public build-
ings after the great fire of London, these quarries are in
as high repute as e,·er, and furnish employment to numbers
of hands in preparing these minerals for shipment to various
parts of England, Ireland, and the continent. At Purbeck
marble is also found, much of which has been sculptured
into various designs for ornamenting the interior of eccle-
siastical edifices. In the same locality are extensive beds of
potters' clay, upwards of 10,000 tons of it are annually ex-
ported from Poole which is the principal port in this
county for foreign trade to the Staffordshire potteries,
There are manufactures of sail cloths, ropes, and fishing nets,
and lines at Bridport and Poole, at Sherborne and Gillingham
are silk-spinning mills, and at Shaftesbury and Bland ford
wire shirt buttons are made. DorsE>t cannot claim impor-
tance as a manufacturing county, its agriculture, fisheries,
and stone quarries forming its principal sources of wealth.

The rocks abound with fossils and organic remains, furnish·

DIRECTORY.) DORSETSHIRE. 5

ing an inexhaustible su~ject of interest both to the geologist
and the admirer of nature. The climate is mild and
salubrious a character it seems to have possessed for
ages, as it appears to have been a favourite summer retreat
both of Romans and Saxons.

The chief rivers are the Stour, the Frome, the Piddle,
and the l vel. The Stour is the principal one, it enters this
county near Gillingham, and in its f11rther course gives
name to several villages, falling into the sea near Christ-
chun·h, Hants. The Frome rises near Beaminster, flowing
south-west by Frampton and Dorchester, e\'entually it is
lost in Poole bay. The Piddle has its sourt!e near Piddie-
trenthide church and taking a south-easterly course falls
also into Poole bay. The lvel, or Yeo, rises at Sherborne
from seven springs called the 'Seven Sisters', running in a
westerly direction it divides this county from Somerset;
ultimately its waters mingle with the Parrett in Somersetshire.
At Radipole, one mile north from Weymouth, is a sulphuretted
spa, and at Nottington, one mile farther north, is ' Notting-
ton Spa', possessing waters of a similar nature.

RAILWAYS. Dorchester is the terminus ofthe Southamp-
ton and Dorchester railway, a continuation of the South
Western line, opened in 1847. This branch, 61 miles in

length, enters the county between Ringwood and 'Vimborne
hence passing by or near Poole, Wareham, Wool, and
1\foreton. By this line it is 141 miles to the metropolis, and
is generally travelled over by the express trains in 5 hours
and 20 minutes. Weymouth is to be the terminus of a
branch of the Great Western Railway ; the Wilts, Somerset
and Weymouth; which comes across the county from
Corsham by Frome and Yeovil and passes Dorchester. It
is opened to Frome, but most of the works are in abeyance
in Dorset, though the heaviest of them are finished.

This county* is in the province of Canterbury and dio-
cese of Salisbury, and for assize purposes is in the western
circuit, it is divided into nine divisions, viz. Blandford-
north, Blandford-south, Bridport, Cerne, Dorchester, Shas-

• At the dissolution of religious houses, temp. Henry YIII., there
were in Dorsetshire, 7 monasteries, 2 priories, 2 friaries, 3 nunnerie&,
3 colleges, and 1 hospital, whose yearly revenues amounted to
£4520 6s. 9d., a sum of money in those days fully equivalent to at
least seven times what it is at the present period.

8 DORSETSHIRE. [HUNT AND 0011

ton-ea~t, Shaston-west, Sturminster, and Sherborne, and 22
liberties, it has 14 towns includin~ Dorchester which is
the county town and 264 parishes. Sherborne was anciently
the assize town, but this privilege has been transferred to
Dorchester, where also are held tht• quarter sessions. By
the Reform Act this county was deprived of 6 members,
bein~ reduced from 20 to 14. Corfe Casile was totally
disfranchised. Weymouth and Melcombe Regis now send
2 instead of 4, and Lyme Regis, Shaftesbury, and Wareham
I each in lieu of 2. Bridport, Dorchester and Poole. each
returning 2, were not interfered with; but the boundaries
of all the boroughs retaining the elective franchise were
materially extended. To the count~ representation one
member was added, it now returning 3, who are polled for at
Beaminster, B!andford, Dorchester, Shaftesbur•v, Sherborne,
Wareham and Chesil in Portland isle, the return being made
at Dorchester; the number of coumy electors is about 6000.

In 1760 Dorsetshire had a population of 90,000, and in
1831, 159,252, of whom 56,736 were males and 82,716
females. In 1841 it contained 42,692 males 20 years of
age and upwards. and 40,862 under 20; of females 20
)Cars old and upwards 50,209, under 20, 41,280, total
number of souls in 1841, 175,043, so that if it has iucreased
in any thing like the same ratio siuce 1841, the next returns
will shew that this county has more than doubled its popu-
lation in a century and a half. The average expense of
the county of Dorset paid out of the rates collected for
this county is about £12,000 per annum.

ABBOTSBVBY is a parish, formerly a market town, !n the hun-
dred of Uggscombe and Weymouth union, 132 miles S.W. by W.
from London and about equi-distant from Weymouth and Dorchester,
being 8 miles N. W. from the former and the like distance S."W.
from the latter town and railway station; it is pleasantly situate in
fertile vale, well sheltered on the north and east by a range of lofty
hills, but open in the opposite direction to receive the soft marine
breezes from the c balmy south' ; the soil hereabouts is of a rich nature

and is remarkable for producing fine potatoes, large quantities of which
find a ready market in the neighbouring and distant towns; the cul-
ture of this valuable vegetable and the catching of various sorts of
fish, furnish the chief employment of the working classes. The sea

DIRECTORY.] 1

is adjacent and in this neighbourhood swarms with shoals of mackerel
and other denizens of the deep, so much so that sometimes as many

as 30,000 or 40,000 of the former fish are taken at a draught, and iu
plentiful seasons it is said an hundred have been sold for one penny.
The mackerel fishery begins in the middle of March and continues till
August, a period of vital importance to the adventurous fishermen,
whose hard earned cash is chiefly expended in the town, and adds
most materially to its general prosperity.

Abbotsbury, which is of great antiquity, derives its name from its
once famons abbey, said to have been onginally founded by Orcas,
steward to the Danish king Canute, traces and relics of this cele-
brated pile are still visible, which shew that it covered a large space
of ground. In the time of Henry V1Il. it was the residence of the
Strangeways family, but during the wars between Charles and his
parliament, it was demolished. Henry VIII. gave the manor with all
Its rights and appurtenances to Sir Giles .::)trangeways, knt. from
whom it has lineally descended to the present Earl of llchester. On
a steep hill about half a mile south from this place is St. Catherine's
Chapel, a gothic chantry, which Mr. Hutchins (the Dorsetshire histo-

rian), imagines was erected temp. Edward IV.; from its elevation it

commands extensive and interesting prospects besides serving as a
useful landmark, both to the seamen and traveller.

The parish church dedicated to St. Nicholas (the patron saint of ma-
riners), is a large and ancient gothic structure with an embattled tower,
containing a peal of 6 bells ; an antique piece of sculpture over the
west door will attract the attention of the curious; here also may be
seen a coffin carved from a solid stone. Besides the church there is a
chapel for persons of the Independent persuasion, there is also in the
parish a free school endowed by one of the Earls of Ilchester, and
which was further augmented by Mrs. Homer.

Abbotsbury is noted for its decoy and swannery, the former is a large
piece of marshy ground covered with srar-grass or bull-rushes, among
which flock vast numbers of wild fow and are easily captured; the
swannery numbers about 700 of these aceful aquatic birds

glide own the bnny element as far as Portland ferry. On an
eminence near the beach is Strangeways Castle, a gothic structure,
commanding a fine view of the west bay, this is the marine residence
of the Earl of llchester. An annual pleasure fair is held on the lltb
of July. The parish contains 3829 acres of land, aud in 1841 had a
population of 1009.

POST OFFICE at Ann Hunt's. Letters are received from Dor-
cllester 8 45 a.m., and are despatched 3 45 p.m.

Ilchester, Rt. Hon. Earl of, Stran- Torkington, Rev. Chas. II.A. ( ctl-

geways Castle rate), Vicarage

Roe Lieut. Robert, Coast Guard Tullidge, Mr. James

.ABBOTSBURY. 8 (HUNT AND CO.'s

Boatswain, David, farmer Kallaway John, farmer, Elworth

Boatswain, Henry, farmer Kallaway Jsph. farmer,Baxington

Bradford, Thomas, farmer, Lock Knight Robert, blacksmith

farm Limm Josias, farmer

Broadley, James, stonemason Poynter Charles, saddler

Brodby, Robert, carrier Poynter John, grocer, &c.

Burridge, Wm. farmer, Elworth Russell James, stonemason

Cheney, Henry, blacksmith Shetler Wm. farmer, Wykewood

Clarke, Matthew, maltster Simms John, tailor

Clarke, William, farmer Studley Joseph, carpenter

Comiek, George, cooper Sweeting William, surgeon and

Cornick, Thos. boot & shoemaker registrar of births and deaths

Cousins, Moses, grocer, &c. Tullidge John, school

Critchell, J ames, parish clerk Tullidge John, jun. baker

Ford, John & Henry, farmers Vincent Robert, tailor

Gardner, Thomas, grocer Wallace Jobn, boot & shoemaker

Gee, Thomas, baker Wallbridge Henry, miller

Gibbons, William, farmer ·wallis Anne, (Mrs.) grocer

Green John, plumber, glazier, and Watts John, farmer

painter \Vest John & Abraham, farmers

Green Richard, farmer West Sarah, (Miss,)~ Swan'

Green \Villiam, farmer White J ames, agent to the Sun fire

Hallett Elizabeth (Mrs.) farmer and life office

Hayne John, carpenter White James, jun. farmer

Hayward Hobert, farmer \Vood Alfrt>d, butcher

Holmyard Henry,' Ship Inn' Wood John, jun. boot & shoemaker

Hounsell William, butcher

Hunt Ann, (Miss,)grocer & draper CARRIER TO Dorchester, Brad-

Hunt Robt. keeperoftheswannerv by, on Sat. and to Weymouth,

Burden Thomas, farmer " Tues. and Friday

AFPPUDDLE, a parish and township in the south division of Bland-
ford, hundred ofHundredsBarrow, \Vareham Union, 8 miles E.N.E.
from Durchester. The parish contains the hamlets ofPalllngton, Bryan's-
puddle, Oakers Wood, Roger's Hill, Throop and Waddock, the
living united with Tomer's puddle is a vicarage in the patronage
of James Frampton, Esq. The church is an ancient structure with
a square tower of great architectural beauty; the body of the edifice

has lately been put in complete repair, the interior consists of finelv

carved oak lews or stalls, with a pulpit of the same style and
material, an a finely carved screen ; an organ has also been placed
here by the present vicar. The first living after the Reformation
was given to Sir Hugh de Lillington, a monk of Ceme, by whom
the interior decorations were erected; the old ceiling o1 the church
has been removed and new close one of polished oak, at a cost of

£200, lines the roof, which gives to the whole a noble appearance

DIKICTOIY .] 9 AFFPUDDLS:.

seldom met with in a village church, acres 3546, the population in
1841 was 507.

Frampton Hen. esq. Oakerswood Hooper John, farmer

Waldy Rev. Richard, M.A. Hooper Wm. miller & farmer

Miller John, carpenter

Besent Chas. farmer, Pallington Mitchell Lawrence, blacksmith,

Besent Robert, ditto, Rogershill Bryant's puddle

Branston Wm. Henry, farmer Pitt William, farmer

Chilcott Isaac, parish clerk Saer William, farmer, Waddock

Davis James, carpenter Scutt Thomas, grocer, &c.

Hall Wm. blacksmith, Waddock Sherwood John, stonemason

Hooper Edward, farmer, Bryant's

puddle

A:LMER., a villa~e 6 miles S.S.E. from Blandford, situated on the
Winterbourne. Tne church is dedicated to St. Mary, and the living
is a rectory in the patronage of John S. W. S. E. Drax, Esq. MP.,
who is likewise Lord of the Manor. The parish with the hamlet of
Mapperton comprises 1520 acres, and had in 1841 a population of 189.

Sawbridge Rev. Chas. M.A. rector Legg Joseph, farmer

Melmoth Henry, grocery dealer

Cave Edward Wm. farmer Richards George, jun. farmer

Crumper Robert, 'Red Lion' Shettle Thomas, farmer and land

Ingram Wm. farmer, Mapperton steward, Mapperton

A:LTON PANCR.AS, alias Alton, a village 2 miles E. from Cerne

Abbas, and 8 N. from Dorchester. The church is an old gothic

structure, the living is a vicarage in the patronage of the Dean

and Chapter of Sahsbury. Here is a school upon the national

system. The parish comprises 2000 acres, and had in 1841 a popu·
lation of 300.

Miller Mr. Michael, jun. Dunning Thomas, miller & baker

Shittler Rev. Robert (vicar) Hankins Charles, fanner

Kent John, fanner

Brown John, brewer Lovelace Maria, grocery dealer

Coombs 'Yilliam, stonemason Masters Alfred, grocery dealer

Croad Abel, boot and shoe maker Masters Robert, boot & shoe maker

Draper Wm. dairyman, Altoncom- Masters William, carpenter and

mon wheelwright

ANDEKSON. or Winterborne-Anderstone, a village about 6! miles
S.W. from Blandford. The church dedicated to St. Nicholas is
a small plain building, the living is a rectory, a presentation of
the Dean of Salisbury. The pansh comprises 750 acres, and had
in 1841, 43 inhabitants.

ANDERSON. 10 (HUNT AND Co.'S

Bason Thomas, grocery dealer Miller John, machine owner
Fish William, shoemaker Old Robert, blacksmith
House John, farmer

A'KNE, a village 4 miles E. of Wareham, lying on the coast

between Poole and Wareham harbours. The livmg is a curacy

annexed to the rectory of Wareham. On an eminence extending
to the harbour is a large barrow reported to have been used as a

beacon. The parish comprises about 2400 acres, and had in 1841,
a population of 168.

Boyt Joseph, farmer I Stickland George, farmer

ASHMOR.E, a village 5 miles S.E. of Shaftesbury, on the confines
of Wiltshire. The cburch is an old edifice, and the living is. a
rectory in the diocese of Salisbury. Here is a school upon the

National system. The parish comprises 3940 acres, and had in 1841

a population of 242.

Davie Rev. G. J.(curate) National School, Stainer Joseph,

Hall Stephen, farmer rnaster, Stainer E. mistJ·ess
Hardy Harry, farmer
Hare George, farmer Rabbits George, farmer
Hiscock Arthur, farmer Rabbits Josiah, shopkeeper
Morey Waiter, stonemason Ridout Henry, farmer
Ridout Joseph, baker

Warren Charles, carpenter
Wheeler, Arthur, blacksmith

ASK.ER.SWE:r.:r., a village 4 miles E. from Bridport, pleasantly

situate in a vale encompassed by lofty hills. The church is dedi-
cated to St. Michael, and the living is a rectory in the diocese of

Salisbury. The parish comprises 1161 acres, and had in 1841 a

population of 233.

Cox Rev. Alfred, M.A. (rector) Genge William, dairyman

Miller Mr. William Noble Henry, boot and shoemaker

P1tfield Thomas, Esq. Ransford Ebzabeth, miller

Way Georue Edmund, miller and

Baker Tbs. farmer, Low. Eggerton baker, Irembury mill

Bishop William, farmer ·white John, parish clerk

Burt Thomas, farmer vVilliams John, ' Three HorsP-

Cllick Absalom, farmer Shoes' and blacksmith

Conway Richard, dairyman

BAGBERE, is a hamlet 2 miles W. of Sturminster Newton, the
popula~ion is numbered with Sturminster.

Andrews William, farmer Belbin Wm. farmer and butcher
.Antell Robert, farmer Cole William, farmer

DIRECTORY.) 11 BAGBERE.

Coombes George, blacksmith Lambert 'Villiam, farmer
Dowding James, farmer Ralph Charles, farmer
Fish George, farmer Rose .Tames, farmer
Fish Joshua, farmer
Hopkins Henry, farmer Winzar William, ~Rose ~- Crown'

BATCOMBZ, is a small village 9 miles S. from Sherborne, 4 N.W.

from Cerne Abbas, and 12 N. W. from Dorchester. The church,

an ancient Gothic erlifice, is dedicated to St. Michael, and the livin~
is a rectory. The parish, including- glebe land, comprises lOO~

acres, with a population in 1841 of 184.

Andrews Jacob, f~rmer Hannam Charles, dairyman
Bird Esau, farmer Hodges Abraham, farmer
Bird John, farmer King George, beer retailer
Crocker George, farmer Peach Jeremiah, parish clerk
Cmtis J ames, blacksmith Ryall John, farmer
Downton John, farmer

BZAMJ:NSTZR., is a market town and chapelry in the parish of Ne-
therbury, hundred of Reaminster-Forum and Redhone, and Bridport

division of the county, 132 miles W. S. W. from London, 18 W.N.W.

from Dorchester, which is the nearest railway station, and 6 N. from
Bridport ; it is a place of considerable antiquity, and at several periods
has suffered from extensive conflagrations; the first of these accidents
befel it in 1644 durin~ the civil wars, while the town was occupied by
Prince Maurice ; ana in 1684 it was almost totally burned to the
ground, a<Tain in 1781, fifty houses fell a prey to thP. devouring element,
but the ingabitants being warned by the two previous calamities took the
precaution of insuring their _property and thus saved themselves from
poverty and ruin, a striking mstance of the immense benefits afforded
by these invaluable institutions, Fire Insurance offices. In consequence
of the frequency of these fires the town has almost entirely been rebuilt
and Beammster may now be considered as a pretty, clean, and respect-
able town; it is located in a luxuriant vale, well watered by the river
Birt, a stream formed by the junction of several springs which rise in
the neighbourhood. Many of the inhabitants were formerly employed
in makmg sail cloth, thiS was succeeded by that of woollens, but
the latter trade began to decline about 1838, and has since become
completely extinct. The town, which Is lighted with gas, is a polling
place for the county members at elections, and is governed by con-
stables and other functionaries who are selected at manorial courts

held periodically by the lord of the manor.
On an eminence, at the southern part of the town stands the church,

a noble building dedicated to the Virgin Mary, the western front of
this structure is an elaborate piece of workmanship, and the noble tower
containing a good {>Cal of bells, lOO feet in altitude, and enriched with
sculpture and carvmgs, altogether render the sacred edifice an object

BEAMINSTER. 12 [HUNT AND CO.'s

of universal admiration. In 1828 the interior was improved and new
galleries added. The living is united cum the vicarage of Netherbury.
A new church is now erecting in the Gothic style of architecture, to
co?tain about 400 sittings wholly free, it is situate midway between
thts town and Wansley. There are also chapels for Independents and
Wesleyans. In 1627 alms-houses for 6 persons were founded here by Sir
John Strode, knt., and there is a free school endowed by Mrs. F.
Tucker for 20 poor boys ; there is also an Infant school, and some

small bequests have been left by benevolent indviduals. A weekly

market well supplied with edibles and other commodities is held on
Thursday, and a fair for cattle, cheese, and large quantities of sheep

annually on September 19th. Beaminster forms a union under the

poor law amendment act, it comprehends 26 parishes, embracing an
area of 80 square miles. The chapelry, which includes the hamlets of
Axeknoller, Langdon, Marsh, Meerhay, North Mapperton, Parnham,
and Wansley contains 4990 acres of land, and had in 1841 a population
of 3270.

POST OFFICE and MoNEY ORDER OFFICE, Hogshill street.
Postmistress, Frances Frampton. Letters are delivered daily at

9 a m. Despatches to Crewkerne at 8 a.m., box closes at 7 50 a.m.

Bridport at 8 30 a.m. box closes at 8 a.m. Taunton and Crew-
kerne at 4 20 p.m. box closes at 4 15. Bridport and London
5 50 p.m. box closes at 5 20 p.m. Letters may be posted to ~ 30
by affixing an additional penny stamp.

Gentry & Clergy. Pitrnan Mr. James, East street

Barratt Mr. John H. Fleet street Ramsay Alexander, esq. East st
Barratt Rev. Alfred (Independent Read Mr. Richard, Fleet -treet
Schoedde Sir J ames H. Hogshill st
Min.) Woodswater cottage Way Mrs. Ann, East street
Bishop Thomas, esq. Church st. Way Lewis, esq. East street
Cox Samuel, esq. North street W oodbury Mrs. Mary East street
Curteis Mrs. East street

Curtis Mrs. Ann, Church street
Davy Mrs. Francis, Church street Miscellany oC Traders, 6.c.
Eveleigh Mr. Wm. Fore place Not arranged in the succeeding lists.

Forward Rev. Chas. (ChuJ"ch of Bartlett Jas. fellmonger, Flet't st

England) Fleet street Bugler Abef, drawing master,

Fox Edw. esq. Beaminster house Church street

Fox Thomas, esq. East street Chubb Jos. gardener, Church st

FGuirlmbeerdt(J~'oeaJcohhinm,, esq. Langdon Clark Wm. master of the union
esq. East street Coombs Chas. millwright, North st

Gould Mr. Theophilus, East street Cox George, clerk to the union,

Gundry Miss Fanny, East street North street

Hamilton Mrs. E. Hogshill street Cox John, land drainer, Meerhay

Hine Mr. George, North street Daniel Isaac, assistant overseer,

Oglander Sir Wm. bt. Parnham Church street

DIRECTORY.] 13 BEAMINSTER.

Dvke Robert, timber carrier,New- Galpin Samuel, Hogshill street

-town Gill Sarah, Hogshill street

Gibbs Samuel, sack and sacking Hallett John, Fleet street

maker, St. Mary Well street Hearn Elizabeth, East street

Hallett Geo. potter, Hogshill st. Woodbury Robert, East street

Hunt Jas. ironworker, East st. Meech Sarah, Church street

March John, basket makr. North st

Meech Sarah, tallow chandler, Blacksmiths,

Church street Guy James, North street

Oliver Isaac, registrm· of mar- Hoare Richard, Meerhay

riages, East street Lawrence George, Fleet street

Oliver John, parish clerk, Fore pl Newman & Son (& brightsmiths)

Podger Charles, miller, Buckham Fleet street

Pope Thomas, commercial clerk, Shiner James, North street

Church street Stevens Charles, Hogshill street

Read Rd. woolstapler, Fleet st. Watts Thomas, Beaminster bottom

Rendle Jas. vety. surg. Hogshill st Weaver Henry, East street

Slade Edwin, regr. of births and

deaths, Church street Booksellers 6. Stationers.

Slade Mary, hatter, ~c. Hogshill st Coombs Edwin (and stamp office)

Hogshill street

Auctioneers and Appraisers. Spink Samuel, Ho(J'shill street
~
Sherring William, Church street

Warr Richard, Fleet street Boot 6. Shoemakers.

Bakers, Alien William, North street
Boon lsaac, Fleet street

Dabinett Joseph, East street Frome William, Hogshill street

Edwards Charles, North street Hann Mary Ann, North street
Hallett John, Fleet street Hoare William, North street
Legg Charles, Church street Meech Henry, Hogshill street
Meech James, Church street
Long 'Villiam, Hogshill street Meech Joseph, Hogshill street
Mills William, East street Mills Bennet, East street
Roberts Ann, White street road Mills William, East street
Swatridge Richard, Fore place

Banks, Nossiter Francis, Church street
Winter John, Fleet stre~t

DorsE>tshire Bank, East street.

(Williams R. & H.) Manager, Builders.

Atkins William J.; draw upon Beament William(&cabinetmaker

Williams, Deacon & Co. London & paper hanger) East street

_Savings' Bank, Fore pi. Actuary, Chick John, Fleet street

Hine Richard Open daily from Frampton John Purchase, (& &ur-

10 a.m. to 3 p.m. veyor) East street

Beer R.etaner•. Bulehers.

Beater John, St. Mary's well st. Barratt John, Hogshill street
Brinson Benj. Hogshill street Bugler Samuel, Stonecombe
Cursons Charles, East street Frampton Giles, Fore place

c

BEAMINSTER. 14 [HUNT AND CO,'I

:Butchers CONTINUED. Hellyar Charles, Knowle

Guy James, North street House Thomas, Green
Guy Thomas, North street Legg Edward, Combe down

Marsh Thos. &John, Chantry farm

Carpenters and 3'olners, Newman Charles, Willwood

See also Builders. Paul Henry, ·whitcombe farm

Hazlewood John, Beaminster bot- Short William, Fleet street

tom Stickland Jas. & Y.·l m. Axeknoller

Marsh Joseph, Fleet street Swaffield John, New town

Oliver Thomas, Fore place Syms Edward, Buckham

Shiner J ames, North street Tolley Richd. Lower Meerhay

Chemists &.. Druggists. Trask William, Mapperton marsh
Wakley John, Lower Murgrove
Hine Richard, Fore place W akly Henry, Bowgrove
Oliver Edwin, Fore place Witty "-m. Chapel marsh

China le. Glass Dealers. !'ire & Life Assurance Agents.

Hallett Fanny, Hogshill street Thus * deuotes Fire; thus § Life.

Swatridge Richard, Fore place §Anchor, Sherring Wm. Church st

Coopers. *§Atlas, Frampton Jno. P. East st.

Guy Henry, North street. *County g. §Provident, Warr
Richard, Fleet street

Swaffield George, Hogsh1ll street §Minerva, Atkins William J. at

curriers &. Leather cutters the Dorsetshire bank

B d"t h f Ch h t t '*Phmnix, Clift William, North st.
DouwnnI Re'h.amdesH, uhr.cl.l st reet §Professional, Coombs Edwin,
1c ar , ogs 1 s ree
H ogsh"1ll street

Dairymen. §*Royal Exchange, Hine Richard,

Aplin William, Meerhay Fore place

Coombs Thomas, East street §*Sun, Fox Baruch, East street

Groves John, Storridge *§West of England, Cox George,

Guppy Henry, Beaminster bottom North street

·woodward John, Shortcombe !'lax Spinners.

Farmers, Coombs Charles, Hook mills
Hunt Edward, Church street
Akcruum Daniel, Axf'knoller
Akerman Danl. jun. Northfield

Bishop Daniel, Stonecombe Grocers and Tea Dealers.

Bowditch John, Shatcombe Oliver Edwin, Fore place

Cox Benjamin, East street Pine Thomas, Fore place

Dowdeswf'll John Palmrr, East st. Stocker George, Fore place

Elliott 'Villiam, Buckham Swatridge Richard, Fore place

Follett .John, Higher Meerhay Grocery and Sundries
Furmedge John, Langdon farm -Dealers In.
Gale John, Lower Buckham

Genge William, Wansley farm Barter J onas, Fleet street

Guy Thos. jun. Storr~dge farm Bartlett .Jas. St. Marv well street

Hearn James, Hogsh1ll Knapp Dabinett Joseph, East street

DIB.ECTOB.Y.] 15 BEA:\HNSTER

Frampton Thomas, North street Cox Ann, East street

Gi.l Sarah, Hogshill street Genge Zillah, Fleet street

Hallett John, l<leet street Hallett Elizabeth, Hogshill street

Hallett Ricl1ard D. Hogshill street Hooper Mary, .North street

Hearn Elizabeth, East street Keetch Ann, St. l\hry's well st.

Meech Sarah, Church street Kiddle Elizabeth, Hogshill street

Oliver Daniel, Fore place Lawrence Eliza, Hogshill street

Pickard Joseph, East street Morgan Caroline, ]\i;orth street

\Vhite Elizabeth, East street Peach Mary Ann, Fore place

Hair Cutters. Painters,Plumbers 6. Glaziers,

Allen Edwin, North street Bagg Thomas, Hogshill street
Clare Charles, East street Collins Samuel, East street
Marsh John, Fore place Newman Thos. & Son (and gas
Pomery William, Fleet street
fitters) Fleet street
Xnns and Public Houses, Oliver Bennett, St. Mary well st.
Toleman Antbony& Edward,Hogs-

Crown, North street, Barter Jsph. hill street

Greyhound, Fore pl. Oliver Thos. Printers.

New Inn, Hogshill street, Cosby Coombs Edwin H. Hogshill street

Charles Oliver Isaac, East street

Red Lwn, Fore place, Alexander Sherring William, Church street
Georae

Swan, Fleet st. Milverton John Saddle 6. Harness Makers,
White Hart, (commercial & inland Everett James Ho..,shill street

revenue office), Hogshill street, Stembridge Je~·emi~h, East street

Foss John

Schools.

:rronmonge~s, _Braziers, &.c. Charity, Short moor; master,

Seymour Benpmm, Fore place 'VhiteleaO" William
Toleman Anthony & Edw. Fore pl Croker Eli~~' East street

Linen Drapers, Davy Mary, & Summers Sarah R.

Chft William, North street Hog..,hill street
Coombs Chas. Hogshill street Gardner 'Villiam, Shadderick st.
Hussey Stephanas, Fore place
National, East street; mistress,

Clarke Eliza

Stembridge Simeon, Fore place Hoare Francis, East street
Virgint Henry, Fore place

Maltsters. Seedsmen,

Milverton John, Fleet street Clare Charles, East street
!::>watridge Richard, Fore place Pine Thomas, Fleet street
Swaffield George, Hogshill street

Milliners and Dress Makers, Solicitor11.

Battiscombe Eliza, Little street Cox Peter, East street

IBrap-g Ellen & l\lary Ann, St. Fox Baruch (and clerk to the
!nary well street magistrates) East street

Cleal Ebza, East street Ru~seil Thomas, East street

BEAMINSTER. 16 (HUNT .AND CO.'S

Stone Masons. Timber Merchants.

Brinson Benjamin, Hogshill street Lane David, Short's lane

Brinson George, Clay lane Park Thomas, Meerhay

Chambers Robert, Fleet street

Gill John, Hogshill street Tin Plate Workers,
Gollop John, :Fleet street
Payne Catherine, East street Canterbury Charles, North street
Meech John, North street

Straw Bat Makers. Oliver Daniel, Fore place

Brinson Zilpah, Fleet street Watch 6. Clock Maker•,
Newman Mary, North street
Oliver Harriett, Church street Farnham Thomas, North street
Nossiter Mrs. Church street Guy Jasper, Little street
Hallett Richard D. Hogshill street
Surgeons. Peach Henry, Fore place

Daniel James, Hogshill street Wbeelwr•ights.
Daniel Thos. Palmer, East street
Webb John S. Hogshill street Hoare Richard, Meerhay
Shiner James, North street
Surveyors ltoad.

Cox Benjamin, East street Wine 6. Spirit Merchant..
Cox John, East street
Barratt John, Hogshill street
Tailors. Hine Philip, East street

Brooks William, North street

Cox Thomas & Son, J.i'ore place & CoACHES to:

Flee~ s_treet BRIDPORT, Royal Mail, at 5 p.m.

Cox WJlham, East street TAUNTON, Royal Mail, at 8 a.m.

Dawe Charles, Fleet street

Goldsworthy John, Hogshill street CARRIERS to:

Hine Joseph H. Fleet street LoNDON a~ndCaoll.'ps arWts aogfgtohnesWfersot~
Larcombe James, Hogshill street Ford

Larcombe Samuel, North street the Red Lion, tues. and sat. at

Marsh Thos. St. Mary well street noon

Oliver William, North street BRIDPORT, Henry Lathey, daily
Stembridge Simeon, Fore place DoRCHESTER, Hayward, tues. and

Wilkins Henry A. Fleet street frid.; Lawrence, same days
TAUNTo~, BRIDPORT AND YEo-
Thatchers.
VIL, Crocker's Vans, toes. thurs.
Paul Henry, Newtown and sat.
Tuck Wilham, Green

BEER. BACEET a village 4 miles S.W. from Sherborne and 3
S.E. from Yeovil. The living is a dischar~ed rectory, a presentation

of the Dean of Salisbury. The parish witn the hamlet of Knighton

contained in 1841, 103 inhabitants.

Farr Stephen, farmer Hann George, dairyman
Holloway .H.obert, farmer
Granger Henry, farmer

DID.ICTORY .] 17 BEER-HACXE'r.

Jeffry Henry, farmer Notley John, farmer
l\lillar John, parish clerk
Noke Richard, dairyman Osmond J a~ob, farmer

BBLCBALWEX.L, a small village about 7 miles N.N.\V. f10m

Blandford, and 4 S.E. from Sturminster Newton. The church po~

sesses an antique Norman porch, and the living is a discharged
rectory. The parish comprises 950 acres, and had in 1~1 a popu-

lation of 225.

Fox Rev Thomas, M.A. (curate) ·Foot Frederick, farmer

Harding John, parish clerk

Andrews Edward, farmer Rose Benjamin, bee1· retailer

Coombes (jeorge, farmer \Varren J ames, farmer

B:E:R.E-JtEG:IS, which gives name to a hundred, is a small and

ancient town (supposed by Dr. Stukely to have been the lbermum

of the Romans), in Blandford divi~ion of the county and union of
Wareham, 7 miles N.N.W. of that town, 5 N.N.E. of Moreton rail-
way-station, 8 S.W. from Blandford, 10 N.E. from Dorchester, and

112 S.W. from London, placed near the small river Beer, generally

known as the Birt. From this stream, and tbe place havmg bet>u

a royal demesne it derives its name. Here it was that Queen El-

frida retreated after plotting and witnessing the murder of her son-

in-law, Edward the Martyr. A o-rant to hold fraeembarokroetugwha,"~' o cou-
ferred by King John. and Edward1. made it a that

in preceding ages Bere appPars to have Leen a place d some note;

the market has long fallen into disuse, but a large fair for hor!>es,

eattle, sheep. cheese, and various other commoditiE-s is held at \Vood-

bury hill, half a mile distant, on September 18th, and the five suc-

ceeding days.

The parish church of St. John the Baptist is a large ancient

building w~ :;square embattlPd towt>r, having a peal of five bells;

the interior of the sacred edifice exhibits in its roof old carvings

representing the twelve apostles, and at the ba"e of the structurP

are monuments to the Turberville famil\, who at oue period held

the living, which is a vicarage, and with that of Charmouth formed

the golden prebend in the cathedral church of Salisbury. There .n~

also places of worship for Wesleyans and Independents; here is an
endowed school for educating and clothing 7 poor boys be,onging to

the parish, and several daily schools, some of which beside instructiug

in reading and writing, teach the children to make wire shirt-button..;,

hence termed ' buttoning schools,' there is also a I\ational school at

Shitterton an adjacent hamlet. At the passing of the Reform Btll

Bere-Regis and Corfe Castle were included in the borough of \Vare-

ham which sends one member to parliament. The parish compnsing

also several hamlets, contains 8150 acres of land, and in 18-ll, had d.

populatil)n of 1394.

BERE-REGIS. 18 (HUNT AND CO.'S

POST OFFICE at Mary Besent's. Letters arrive from Blandford
at 9 a.m. and are despatched thereto at 4 15 p.m.

Carter Mr. Thomas IHenning John~ farmer

Ley Rev. Carrington~ M.A. (vicar) Hibbs Edward, blacksmith~ grocer,

Radclyffe Chas. Jas. Esq. Hyde and draper

Sanders Mr. John, Compton Hibbs Richard Hen. butter factor

Stent Mr. Samuel Hillier Sarah. 'Royal Oak Com-

Toomer Mr. Richard mercial Inn'

Hoare Edward~ farmer, Low. Hyde

Arnold James, agricultural ma- Homer Thomas, farmer

chine owner House Esther~ milliner~ &c.

Battrick John, boot and shoemaker House Henry~ carpenter

Besant Wm. farmer, Shitterton Huxford Elizabeth~ milliner~ &c.

Best James, dairyman Ingram Thomas~ farmer, Philliols

Bevercomb John~ grocery dealer Jesty Charles, farmer and road

Biles William, blacksmith surveyor

Bishop Mary, national school mis- Lane Charles, tailor

tress Lane Wm. boot and shm~maker

Bishop Philip, saddler Lane Wm. jun. parish clerk

Boswell Susan, milliner, &c. Lugg John~ shoemaker, Shitterton

Brain Richard~ grocer and draper Miller Felix~ farmer

Brown John, shoemaker Moor Emily~ milliner, &c.

Bullen Jas. carpenter, Shitterton Mundell Joseph Hamilton, grocer

Burge Robt. grocer & tallowchand- and ironmonger

ler and agent to the Professional Nott Thomas~ surgeon

Life Assurance Co. Nott Thomas~ jun. physician

Case Henrv, grocer and draper Poor J ames, carpenter

Chatfey John, tailor Purchase Robert, farmer, Rye hill

Chard George, tailor Ricketts John, boot & shoemaker

Clinch Thomas, tailor Ricketts Mary, grocery dealer

Culkin John Fredk. inland revenue Russell George, miller

officer Satchell Thomas, painter

Davis John, saddler Scutt George, farmer, Hyde

Davis Matthew~ carpenter Scutt Richard, miller

Devenish Sam. grocery, &c. dealer Scutt William, brewer and farmer

Dibben George, butcher and beer Shaddock Robert, carrier

retailer Sibley Mrs. Anne, milliner, &c.

Dowden Thos. Edward, farmer Simper Phrebe, milliner, &c.

Dowland Ma.ry Ann, grocer, &c. Shepherd Francis, far mer

Forss Thomas, farmer Shepherd Louisa, ladies school

Galton Henry, carpenter, joiner~ Sheppard Thomas, bricklayer

and beer retailer Spear Thomas, farmer

Galpin Edward Patten, registrar Spignell Ann, milliner, &c.

of births and deaths and reliev- Sticldand Thomas, shoemaker

ing officer, Shitterton Taber William, carrier

Gould Sarab, beer retailer Vincent James. 'Drax3'Arms lm•'

Gould Stisan., dress maker Vincent John, brieklayer

DIRECTORY., 19 BERE-REGIS.

W albridge Sarah, farmer Dorchester, Joiner, sat.

Walbridge Wm. grocer and cooper ,, Sltaddock, wed. and

Welch J ames, shoemaker sat.

White Tabitha, beer retailer & ,, Taber, sat.

farmer To Poole • •Shaddock, mon.

Woolfreys John, shoemaker , Taber, mon. and thus.

Woolfrevs Saml. miller & farmer Wareham. Joiner, tuP.s.

Wimbome...Ford ~ Co. tues. ths.
CARRIERS to:
and sat.
Dorchester, Ford and Co, mon.

wed. and fri.

BETTlSCOMBE, a village 7miles N. E. of Lyme Regis, 6 W. from

Beaminster, and 8 S.W. from Crewkeme. The church is a small

ancient Gothic structure, and the living is a rectory in the gift of R.

B. Sheridan, Esq. II.P. The parish comprises 620 acres, and had in

1841, a population of 53.

Scott Rev. James W. Rectory Elliott Azariah, fanner
Caddy John Smith, farmer \\' arren Simon, farmer

B11VCOMBB, is a small village 5 miles N. from Weymouth and 5 S.
from Dorchester. The living, a rectory, is united with that of Broad-
way. Here are some stone quarries and in the neighbourhood are nu-
merous barrows. The parish comprises 980 acres, and had in 1841,
160 inhabitants.

Honeybun Joseph, grocery, &c. Read William & John, farmers

dealer Wame Joseph, fanner

Pashen George, farmer W oodsford John, parish clerk

BLAWD::E'OR.D, or Blandford-Forum, anciently known as Cheping
Bleneford, is a corporate borough, market town, township and parish,
in the north division of its name and hundred of Pimpeme, 22 miles
S. W. from Salisbury, 6 N. E. from Dorchester, 14 N. W. from Poole,
9 N. W. from Wimborne, where there is a railway station, and 104
S. W. from London. It derives its name from an ancient ford (in the
vicinity) over the river Stour; the town being built at an angle or
bend of that stream whtch is here crossed by a handsome stone struc-

ture of six arches.
Blandford, like many other towns especially in this county, has been se-

veral times the scene of extensive conflagrations, this is attributable to
the former prevalence of thatched roofings to the dwellings; the greatest
fire that occurred was on June 4th, 1731, when the whole of the town
excepting forty houses, was destroyed, and the entire hamlets of
Blandford St. Mary, and Bryanston were also totally consumed; this
dire disaster is commemorated by a suitable inscription upon a pump

in the market place. One calamity it is said generally attends another,

BLANDFORD. 20 (HUNT AND eo's.

for at this period the small-pox made its appearance, happily however
it confined itself to but a small portion of the inhabitants, and in a
very few instances acted fatally. ln 1732 an act of Parliament (ex-
pressly forbidding thatched roofs), was passed for rebuilding the
town, and almost immediately after it gradually rose from its
ruins, like a phcenix from the ashes ; it now forms a handsome town
the houses mostly of brick are neat and convenient, disposed in regular
streets, which are well paved, lighted with gas, and abundantly sup-
plied with pure water. The Town Hall is a handsome edifice in the
Doric style, and is constructed of Portland stone: immediately at the
back of this is the new market place, a building of great utility and
convenience, as before it was opened the market was held ln the pub-

lic streets. Anterior to the 18th century fine point lace, reported to

excel that of Flanders, and some of which sold as high as £30 per
yard, was made here; at present the only article fabricated is wire
shirt buttons, this employs many females, but not near the number it
did at former periods; the town is greatly benefitted by the purchases
of the numerous gentry that reside in the surrounding neighbourhood,
and also derives considerable advantages from its well attended mar-
kets and fairs.

Blandford in some old records is styled a borough, but it appe-ars

only to have returned members to parliament twice, viz. 23rd of Ed-

ward 1. and 22nd of Edward Ill., it was incorporated by James I.

By the municipal reform act local affairs are administered by a
mayor, 4 aldermen and 12 councillors, who are styled the bailiff and
burgesses of the borough of Blandford-Forum in the county of Dorset;
this is one of the polling-places at county elections, and the town con-

fers the title of Marquis upon the eldest son of the Duke of Marlbo ·
LJorough.

The Parish church of St. Peter and St. Paul, standing in the heart
of the town, is a handsome modern !'!tructure in the Grecian style of
architecture with a tower 80 feet high. The living is a vicarage in
the patronage of the Dean and Chapter of Winchester. There are
ehapels for persons of the Independent and Wesleyan denominations.
The benevolent institutions are various; in 1641 William Williams, Esq.
left £3,000 for charitable purposes, and for educating poor children, this
sum is invested in land and now produces £300 per annum. George
Ryves, Esq. in 1685 founded almshouses for ten ao-ed persons, and
gave the residue of his estate, now yielding £120 yearly, for instructing
poor boys, there are likewise 6 almshouses belonging to the corporation
in the church-yard. Archbishop Wake founded and endowed a Blue
Coat school; its yearly revenues now amount to £56 10s., there are
also schools upon the British and National sy!!>tems, as well as an
Infant one. At the eastern part of the town are the remains of
Damory Court, now a farm house, it was originally the baronial man-
sion of the family of that name, who were lords of the manor. Near
this stood the famous Damory oak, which in 1747, was 45 feet in
height, the branches extending 72, the trunk was at the bottom 23 ft.

DIRECTORY.] 21 BLANDFORD.

in diameter, and a cavity in the centre was 15 feet wide. It was
rooted out for fire-wood in 1753. Blandford, by the poor law amend-
ment act, forms a union of 33 parishes embracing an area of 92 square
miles. A weekly market is held on Saturday, and fairs for cattle,
cheese, and sheep on March 7th, September 9th, and November 8th;
the township contains 920 acres of land, and in 1841 had a population
of 3349.

POST OFFICE and MoNEY ORDER OFFICE, Market Place·
Post Master, "\\Tm. Shipp. Letters are delivered at 8 a.m. 2 p.m·

and 8 30 p.m., DESPATCHES for London, Wimborne, and all parts
at 10 30 a.m. and 8 30 p.m., for Shaftesbury, Wincanton, Bristol
and Wales at 2 p.m. box closes at 10 15 a.m. I 45 p.m. and
8 15 p,m.

Messengers to all adjaflent villages at 6 a.m.

Gentry, Clergy, &.c, Miscellany oC Traders, &.c.

Bulgin Mrs. Elizabeth, Salisbury st Not arranged in the succeeding Lists.

Conyers, Mrs. Elizbth. Salisbury st Dobell J no. supervisor, New build-
Cooke Rev. John E. Church yard in(J's

Dalrymple Mr. John, New bldgs. Fishi'r Hen. timhermerchant,Bry-

Durdon John, Esq. the Close anstone street
E~wasse ~r. Leonard~ West st~eet Geall Wm. cutler, Salisbury street

F1sher Miss Sarah Field, White- Hunt Hen. Joseph trunk maker

cliffmill street East street ' '

Godwin Mrs..R?se, Salisbury st. Lanning Geo. dyer, New buildgs

Hart Rev. Wilham, East street Pond James and Samuel, tin plate
Hllla~y _Mr. Samuel Evans, New workers, Market place

bmldmgs Ridout J ane L. staymaker East st

Keeping Mrs. Elizbth. Salisbury st Short Wm. corn dealer and Jeeds-

Keynes Rev. Richard (lndepen- wan Salisbury street
_dent Minister), Whit~cliffmill st South;y Geo. Wm. wheelwright,

Kmg Mrs. Carolme, Salisbury st. Lion yard

Lacey Mrs. Sarah, Market place Stevens Wm. artist, Salisbury st

Oak Wm Coventry,Esq. East st Warren Charles, inland revenue

Parker Rev. HumphryT. Church officer, New buildings
yard
Auctioneers &. Ap~ratsers,
Penny Rev. J ames, East street

Rogers Mr. Harry, East street

Smith Mr. William, '3alisbury st Coles Fras. Ewens, Sahsbury _st.

Smith Sir John Wildbore, Bart. Park Thos. 1\loss (and furmture

Down house broker) Salisbury street

Snow Rev. Thomas, Langtonhouse Soper James, \Vest street

Spooner Mr. William, West street

Stuart Francis James, Esq. Salis- Bakers.

bury street Alliston Robert, Salisbury street

Tucker Mr. William, Salisbury st Cheater Mary, Bryanston street

Woderspoon Miss Maria_, East st Davis StephPn, \Vlutecliffmill st

BLA~DFORD. 22 (HUNT AND CO.'S

Bakers coNTINUED. Boot and Shoemakers.

Kendall Wm. Salisbury street Barnett James, Salisbury street

Meatyard Robert, Market place Bishop Daniel Hardy, Salisbury st

Muuday James, East street Boucher William, Salisbury street

Nippard George, Salisbury street Carter Geo. Sheep market hill

Notley ¥.e?ry, Bryanston street Cbatley Daniel, Whitecliffmill st
Selby \\ Ilh~m, E,ast stre~t
Cork Henry James, ditto
Sr_?ll;rt Sylvm & S~rah, New bldgs Dyke George, Salisbury street
'\~h~te James. Salisbury ~treet Elliott Geo. Augustus, Salisbury st

Whtte Laban, New buildmgs Freke Edward, West street

Freke George, East street

Bankera. Hart James, Sheep market hill

Blandford Bank, Market place, Hicks Robert and Samuel, Salis·

Oak '\Vm. and Snow Chas. H, bury street

draw on Glyn, Mills, & Co. Maidmeut Jas. "'Whitecliffemill st

London. Maitland vVm. New buildings

.Vational Provincial Bankof Eng- Meaden Barnard, Salisbury street

land, Market place, A!anager, Nesbitt John, Salisbury street

May Joseph. Draw upon the Nesbitt Robert, New buildings

London Joint Stock Bank Corn- Pointer Chas. \Vhitecliffemill st

pany.

Watts and Dorset Bank, Market Builders.

place. Manat{er, Williams Chs. Kent Jonathan, Whitecliffemill st

draw upon Glyn, & Co. Lon- Marshall Henry, Salisbury street

don Painter Charles, ~ew buildings

Savings' Bank, Church yard R?bbms ~i~liam, Tabernacle

Secreta1·y, Barth'tt James. lhdout W1lham, East street

open on Sat. from 11 to 1 o'clock. Simmonds John, Salisbury street

Basket Makers. Butchers.

Barrett Richard, East street Dennett Chas. (pork) Market pl
Sta.yner Robert, East street Dominy Robert, Salisbury street
Frampton Harry, Salisbury street

Beer Retailers. Puddock Thomas, East street

eheat er l\".tarv Brvanstone street Park Mark ( pork only) Salisbury· st
Seymou'r Mor.Jg'an, B• ryanstone st Sevmour Morgan Bryanstone st

.1 '

Suckland Robt. New buildings Cabinetmakers&.Upholstererlll.

Blacksmiths. Croom James, Market place

Blandford Thos. Bryanstone street Coles Frans. Ew~ns, Salisbury st

Jay vVm. and James, East street Greatbatch Damel, M:uket street
Kerley \Yilliam Salisbury street Park Thos. Moss, Sal~sbury street
' Saunders Thomas, Salisbury street

Booksellers and Stationers.

Hemille Charles, Salisbury street Carpenters.
Hobbs J ames, West street
See also Builders.

Shipp Wm. (&bookbinder, printer Applin William, New buildings
&stamp distributor), Market pl. l\leech John, Alms house lane

DIRECTORY.] 23 BLANDFORD.

Payne J ames, Salisbury street Farmers.

Robbins William, Tabernacle Homer Thomas, Salisbury street
Simmonds John, Salisbury street Raxworthy Robert, France
Sharp Robert, Damory farm
Varner George, Salisbury street

Carriers 6. Carriers Agents, Fire 6. Life Assurance Agents.

Best James, New buildings Thus • denotes Fire; thus§ Life.

Kent Joseph (agent to Ford & Co.) §Albion, Bulgin Samuel, East st
§Alfred; and * § Legal ~ Com·
West street

Gould William, East street mercial, Soper J ames, West st

*§Atlas, Oak ·wm. C. at the

Chemists and Druggists. Bank, '\Vest street

Groves Simon (&oil & colourman) §Catholic, §Lau, *PluPnix, §Pe-

Market place lzcan, and §Western, Moore H.

Reid John, Market place Salisbury street

*County, and §Croun, '\Villiams

China and Glass Dealers. Charles, Market place

BakPr Robert, Market place §Economic, Wyatt ·wm. Thomas,

Baker Sarah, Salisbury street Market place
*§Guardian, Fincham '\Villiam

Clothes Dealers. New buildings

Bannon Barnard, Salisbury street *§Hand in Hand, Barter Geo. J.
Market place
Blake James, Salisbury street
Nesbitt John, Salisbury street *§London Assurance, Durden
Hen. Market place

Coach Builders, §M'edical, Invalid ~ Gen. Elgar

Ball John and Sons, West street Wm. T. East strPet
Reason Thos. George, Market pl. *§2Jfentor, Abbott Heury \Villiam,

West street

Coal Merchants, *§2Wonarch, Lewis John, "'nite-

Geard Eli, East street cliffinill street
Street Fabian, Tabernacle *Phrenix, and §Pelican, Croom

James, Market pl. & Fry John,

Confectioners. Salisbury street

Kendall Wm. Salisbury street §Profes&ional, Gingell R. H. Mar-
Meatvard Robert, West street
White J ames, Salisbury street ket place
*§Royal Exchange, Shipp ·wm.

Market place

Cooper 6. Sieve Maker, *§Star, Coles Frs. E. Salisbury st

Seward Jno. Greenin(J',Salisbury st *~§.un, "':Nell~ngton T. Squar~ .

t:J §Vzctorza, Ohver Matthew,'\\ hlte-

Curriers 6. Leather Sellers. cliffmill street
Cad1. e Chas. (& tanner) East street *§MWaerskteot f laEcnegland' Fisher M.
George Isaac, East street P

'I!ealer in Horses. Glovers.

Short Edmnnd, New buildings Edmunds Henry (and fell-monger

and rope-maker) East street

BLANDFORD. 24 [HUNT AND CO.'S

Glovers CONTINUED. Haskell James, Salisbury street
Rolls Charles, East street
.ftolls John, Salisbury street

Grocers and Tea-dealers. Jnns and Public Houses.

Marked thus•are wholesale & retail, Antelope, Salisbury street, Slade

and thus t are Tea dealers only. Honor

*Brown Henry, Salisbury street Bell Tavern (&Commercial Inn)

*Durden Henry, Market place Market place, Gingell Rich. Hn.
Geor~e Isaac, East street
Black Bear, Salisbury st. Felton

*fGiu Henry & Co. Market place William
*Lock and Lawrence, West street Castle, Bryanstone st. Cox Wm.

tMcClymont & Stewart, Salisbury Crown and Anchor, West street,

street Soper J ames

tSaunders Thomas, jun. Wl1ite- Crown Hotel, West st. Lock Geo.

cliffemill street Fleur de lis, East st. Rose Benjn.

fVernon John, Fisher's buildings George, Salisbury street, Alien

Harriet

Grocery and Sundries- Grey Hound, Market pl. Rolls Jn.

Dealers in. Half Moon, Whiteclitfmill street,

Abberline Hannah, East street Coates Charles

Alliston Robert, Salisbury street Kin[!'s Arms (commercial) White-

Cable Henry, Salisbury street cliffemill st. Lewis John

Coffin Thomas, Salisbury street New Inn, East street, Witheridge

Dennett William, Market place FannyMaria

Etheridge Philip, Blandford, St Portman Arms, Salisbury street,

Mary Botting Charles

Ker~ey William, Salisbury street Red Lion, Red Lion yard, Argyle

Kiddle John, New buildings John

Lacey Charles, East street Star Inn, East street, Sims Geo.

Loder John, Salisbury street Three Choughs, Market pl. Mullett

Meaden William, Bryanston street Michael
Payne James, Salisbury street White Hart, East st. Horlock Levi
Roberts Morgan, New buildings White Horse, New buildings,Long
Smart Sylvia & Sarah, New bldgs. William

Stickland Samuel, East street

Wareham George, Salisbury street Jron and Brass rounders.

White Laban (and bacon factor) Pitney & Hook.ey New buildings

New buildings '

Gun Manufaeturers, Ironmongers.

Barrett Edward, Salisbury street Bulgin Samuel, East street
Wyatt Wm. Thomas, Market pl. Jones John, Salisbury street
Lindsay John Farmer, Market pl.

Hair Dressers.

Beale Henry, East street :Linen and Woollen Drapers.

Brown James, Salisbury street Abbott Hen. & Wm. Spence Mar-

Domoney Stephen, Salisbury street ket place

Freke Charles, West street Bennett Thos. Hodges, Salisbury st

DIRECTORY.) 25 BLANDFORD.

Fisher Malachi and Henry Field~ Penny Rev. James (boarding &

Market place day) East street

Ford Henry, Market place Roe Mrs. (boarding) Salisbury st.

M'CJyr-10nt & Stewart, Salisbury

street Shirt Button Manufacturers.

Bennett Thos. Hodges, Salisbury
Milliners 6. Dress Makers. street

Biggs Elizabeth, Salisbury street Fisher Malachi, & Henry Field,

Brown Ann Kendall (Albe1't house) Market place

East street

Homsby Caroline, Salisbury street Solicitors.

Hunt Jane~ East street Fincham Wm. Cole~ New buildgs.

Powell Eliza, Salisbury street Johns Henry Wm. & Francis Tre-

Stevens Harriett, Salisbury street gonwell, Bryanston street

'Nursery 6. Seedsman, King John T. Salisbury street
Moore Henry~ Salisbury street

Gill John, (and florist) Salisbury Smith Francis & Edwin Augustus,

street and East street Square

Jtalnters, Plumbers 6. Glaziers Stocking 6. Wor•ted Manufr.

Elgar Wm. Thos. (&paperhanger Southey Peter, East street

& carver & gilder) East street

Henville George, Salisbury street Stone Masons.

Jackson John, East street Allsford James, New buildings
Pond Wm. (plumber) Market pl. Kent Jonathan, Whitecliffmill st.
Stickland Henry, Market place Marshall Henry, Salisbury street

Professors of Music. Straw Bat Makers.

Oakley Caroline, New buildings Blandford Elizth. Salisbury street
Spinney J oseph, East street
Barfoo• Sophia, Salisbury street

Cook Catharine, Whiteclitfrnill st.

Saddlers 41. Harness Makers Harfoot Jane, Salisbury street

Davis Stephen, Market place Park Caroline, Salisbury street

Tatchell Samuel J. Market place Tanner Harriett~ Sheep market hill

Schools. Surgeons.

Andras Marianne, East street Daniel Joseph, East street
British, Whitecliffrnill street, Dansey John, East street

Shaw Jarnes, & Rowe Sarah lngram Charles, "Wbitecliffinill st.

Hillyer Jane, East street Lees Hen. u.n., Salisbury street

Infant•', Salisbury street, Bouts Spooner Edwd. Oke, Sahsbury st.
Mary

Keynes Rev. Richard, Whitecliff"- Tailors.

Namtiiollnsatrlee~t Blue Coat, D Marked thus • are Drapers also.

& S ort Eliza ' Collins Samuel, Market place

D

BLANDFORD. 26 [HUNT .~ND CO.'S

Tailors, coNTINUED. Hood Robt. "\Vhitecliffmill street

*Curtis John Saunders & Son, Mayer Anthony, Whitecliffmill st.

Market place Wyatt Wm. Thos. (& jeweller)

*Derham Edward, West street Market place

Gibbs William, New buildings

Hodges AngelS. Market place Whitesmiths.

Jackson James, East street Ball Wm. "Whiteclitfmill street
Bulgin Samuel, Market place
Rose J oseph, Salisbury street Meller Joseph, New buildings

*Vear J ames, Salisbury street

~Toollev William, East street


Tallow Chandlers. Wine 6. Spirit Merchants.

Lock & Lawrence, We:iit street Durden Henry, Market place

Tarver "\Vm. (& maltster) White- Oliver Matthew, Whiteclitfmill st.

clitfmill street Soper J ames, West street

Veterinary Surg-eons. "\Vellington Thomas, Square

Jay John, East street Woolstaplers.

Mitchell Josepb, Salisbury street Bames Philip & J no. East street

watch&. Clock Makers. E~wards Wm. & Son, New bldgs.

Barrett Edward (& J.ewe11er) Sa1I.s- H1llyer Chas. & Wm. New bldgs.

bury street

Law and Public Officers.

Fincham Wm. Cole, deputy cm·oner for the Blandford ~ Wimborne

division, New buildings

Hobbs Jas. registrar of marriages, West street

Johns Francis T. coroner for Blandford ~ Wimborne divisiO'n, ~

clerk of county court, Bryanstone street .

Jolms Henry 'Villiam, deputy registrar ot tlte archdeacCJnry of Dor-

set, q. joint clm·k to magistrates, Bryanstone street

Kendall Wm. appa1·itor under the archdeaconry of Dorset, Square

King John Tregonwell, clerk to magistrates ~to trustees of Ham-

ham, Blandford g. Dorchester turnpikes, and to Blandford and

Wimbo1 ne turnpike trust

Lance Henry, 1·egistrar of births ~ deaths for the Blandford divi-

sion, Square

Laurie Joseph, governor of union, East street

Oakley Thos. cle1·k ~f union ~superintendent regist1·ar, New bldgs.

Park Thomas Moss, bailiff ofcounty court, Salisbury street

Pond Edward, manager of gos works, Market place

Roe John Banister, manager of Dorset benefit building society,

Salisbury street

Russell William, inspector of weights~ measU?·es, East street

Smith Francis, town clerk and deputy registrar of the ancient dio-

cese of Bristol, Square

Southey Peter, inspector of police and collector of market tolls,

East street

DIRECTORY.] 27 BLANDFORD.

COACHES.

From tile Crown Hotel.

BATH, on tues. thun;. & sat. at 9 morn., through Shaftesbury, Win-

canton, &c.
DoRCHESTER, on tues. tlnus. & sat. at half-past 2 aft.

SALISBURY, on mon. wed. & fri. at half-past 1 aft.

WEYMOUTH, on tues. thurs. & sat. at half-past 2 aft.

WIMBOR~E, daily at a quarter past 10 morn.; also on mon. wed. & fri.

at 4 aft.

CARRIERS.
LoNDON, Ford ~ Co., by rail, via Wimborne daily; also Gou.ld

BATH, mail cart for parcels, from King's Head daily, at 2 aft.

BIRMINGHAM, Ford~ Co. on tues. thurs. & sat. at 9 morn., via Frome

to Manchester and all parts North

BRISTOl,, Dodimead, tues. thurs. & sat.; Ford~ Co. tues. thurs. &

sat. at 9 morn.; also lngs, mon. at 7 morn. through Sturminster,

Newton, Stalbridge, ·wincanton, &c.
CHILDOAKFORD, Roberts, also Hiscock, both from the Half Moon, on

saL

CRITCHELL, Sims, from Star Inn, on sat.

DoRCHESTER, Ford~ Co. mon. wed. & fri.; also Jrfatth(Jws, from the

Bell Inn, on wed.

GussAGE-.~LL-SAINTS, King on sat. from the Crown & Anchor

lwERNE MINSTER, Hu.nt, on tues. thurs. & sat. at 4 aft.
PooLE, Dodimead, from Three Choughs, tues. thurs. & sat.; also

In!!s, on mon. at 9 mom.; likewise Plowman, on mon. & thurs.

at 10 morn.
SALISBURY, Ford ~ Co., tues. thurs. & sat.; also Matthews, from

Bell Inn, on thurs. & sat.

SHAFTESBURY, Ford~ Co., tues. thurs. & sat. at 9 morn.

T .AUNTON, Ford ~ Co. on tues. thurs. & sat. at 9 mom. through

Sherbome, Yeovil, Ilminster, to Exeter, Plymouth, and all parts

West.

BLANDPOR.D St. Ma.ry, a village half a mile S. from Blandford
Forum, on the opposite side of the river Stour, over which there
is a bridge. The church is dedicated to St. Mary, and the living
is a rectory. This was the birth-place of Dr. Brown ·willis the

celebrated antiquary. The parish comprises 420 acres, and in 1841

had a population of 419. Post Office, at Sarah Kails. Letters are

delivered at 7 a.m. and despatched at 6 30 p.m.

Mansfield Rev. Joseph, (rector) Barfoot J ames, painter

Ryves Capt. George F. R.N. Blanchard Thos. painter, &c.

Amey Thomas, carpenter Brine Robert, cooper

Cross Harriet, c New Inn'

BLANDFORD, ST. MARY. 28 (HUNT AND CO.'S

Etheridge Philip, grocer & baker Rickman Robert, farmer and auc-

Gillard James, boot & sl10emaker tioneer

Hector John, & Co. brewers & Skivington 'William, music seller

spirit merchants Smith Francis, watch and clock

Kmght Caroline, mistress of Na- maker

tional school Steel John, nurseryman

Norris George>, chair maker Watts George, wheelwright

Nutbeem Wllliam, farmer Williams Joseph, farmer

z:r..o:s::WOR.TB, or Blockswo rth, a village about 6 miles N.N.W
from Wareham. The church, a small structure, consists of a nave
and chancel with a square tower; the living is a rectory and pe-
.euliar of the Dean of Salisbury. In the neighbourhood are vestiges
of a Danish fort. The parish comprises 2800 acres, and had in 1841
a population of 306.

Cambridge Rev. Geo. Pick:m\ Hemille Waiter, carpenter
Chatterton, Sir William, Bart. Mayo George, farmer
Manuel Joseph, farmer
Anstey Robert, farmer Russell William, grocer, &c.
Bartlett Henry, blacksmith

BOTBE:NBAMPTO:N. a village about a mile S.E. by S. from
Bridport. The church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity, and the
living is a perpetual curacy in the patronage of the Countess of
Abingdon. The parish comprises about 600 acres, and had in
1841 a population of 533.

Cooke Rev. Francis (rector) Coombes John, farmer and lime

Foot Mr. Richard burner

Gundry Joseph, esq. Hyde Deem Alfred, farmer

Kerslake Mr. J0hn,Hyde corner Garland Richard, farmer, Hyde

Marsh Mr. Robert Gray Richard, farmer

Hayward George, thatcher

Ackerman Richard, farmer & beer Perham John, miller, South mill

retailer Rawles Richard, carpenter

Ackerman Stephen, farmer Spiller Mary, dairykeeper

Case J ames, farmer Trevett George, beer retailer

Clarke Chas. farmer, Weech farm Trevett Robert, blacksmith

Coombes Matthew, farmer Wakely John, dairyman

BOU'R.TO:N, is a village in Gillingham parish, 3 miles E. from

Wincanton and 8i N. from Shaftesbury, it contains a church or

rather a chapel of ease dedicated to St. George, the living ofwhich is a
perpetual curacy. Here is an iron foundry, a linen manufactory,
another for flax spinning and the making of shoe-thread, and a
tannery, so that altogether there is considerable employment for

DIRECTOR'!".) 29 BOURTO:N.

the operative classes. In 1841 Bourton had a population of 976.

The counties of Dor~et, Wilts, and Somerset unite at a point, on
the banks of the Stour, at the extreme north part of this village,

which junction is marked by a boundary stone. Post Office, at
Waiter Spicer's. Letters are received via Wincanton at 9 a.m. and

are despatched thereto at 5 p.m.

Evans C,ommauder D. R.N. Joy Henry, boot & shoemaker

Evans Lieutenant Matthew Kellaway Elizabeth, fanner

Hindley Miss Amzer Kellaway Robert, grocery, &c.

Jesse Mr. William dealer

Loader Mrs. J ames Knapton George, butter dealer

March ~lr. <Jeorge Knapton Samuel, farmer

Meaden Mr. William Lawrence James, tailor

Longman Isaac, farmer

Alford William, baker Low Thomas, grocer and draper

Baker Sarah, ~rocery, &c. dealer Lush John, boot & shoemaker

Bell Luke, tailor Lush Samuel, do. & beer retailer

Charltou James, stonemason Maggs Henry, linen manufacturer

Chubb Thomas, beer retailer Maggs Oliver & Co. flax spinners

Clarence George, commission agt. & shoe thread manufacturers

Collins John, blacksmith Maggs Oliver, ironfounder, engi-

Cousins Robert, currier neer & agricultural implmt. mkr

Cox Charles, farmer Matthews James, tailor

:Edmonds Charles, colt breaker Meadon Robert, maltster

Everatt Amelia, grocery, &c. dlr. Millard Thomas B. gent's.school

Forward .John, farmer Mitchell Bradboum, tailor

Gatehou~ Felix, farmer Moody Robert, farmer & baker

George James, tanner, & at Win- Perry Thomas, ' farmer

canton Pitman J ames, shoemaker

Gough George, butcher Pitman John, brickm& ker

Hartgill Chas. Frdk. wheelwright Spicer Walter, c Red Lion Inn'

and beer retailer Tapor Thomas, farmer

Hindley Emma, ladies' school \Villiams George, farmer

Hine James, blacksmith Willis J ames, farmer

Hutton Robert, colt breaker

Hutton William, farmer A c bus' to Frome Mon. \Ved.

lugs J obn, currier and Frid at 8 a.m.

BJt.A»'I'OKD-ABBAS, a village 4 miles S. ,V. from Sherbome,

and 2 S.E. from Yeovil. The church is an ancient structure, hav-

ing an handsome embattled tower, on the sides of which are some

sculptured fi_gures. The living is a vicarage united with the rectory

of Clifton l\1abank. Here is an endowed charity school. The parish

comprises 1840 acres, and had in 1841 a population of 652. Post
Office at George Ridout's. Letters arrive at 8 45 a.m. and are

despatched to all parts, via Sherbome, at 2 p.m.

D3

BRADFORD-ABBAS. 30 (HUNT AND CO.'s

Granger Mr. Edward Crock er William, beer retailer

Grant Rev Robert, Vicarage Francis George, yeoman

Hockey George, tailor

Arnold Henry, parish clerk and Minchmton John, beer retailer

shoemaker Mitchell Thomas, ' Rose~ Crown'

Arnold William Hen. organist Pitt John, grocery, &c. dealer

Baker Ernest, farmer Plomer George, saddler

Bartlett GeorO"e, baker Rendall Solomon, blacksmith

Bartlett Joseph & Geo. farmers Ridout Peter, grocer & baker

Bragg George, carpenter Sherring John, farmer

Charity school, master, Priddle W adman Christopher, tailor

Wm. mistress, Masters Nancy Warren John, farmer &miller

Wills Charles, grocery, &c. dealer

BR.ADl'OR.D..PEV:SR.ELL a village situated on the river Frome

3 miles N. W. from Dorchester. An entirelv new church has lately

been erected here chiefly at the expence of Nathaniel Hastings Mid-

dleton, Esq. lord of the manor, the living is a rectory. Here is also
a parochial school supported by voluntary contributions. The parish
comprises 2700 acres, and in 1841 contained 355 inhabitants.

Devenish Mrs. William Greening Ann, ladies' school

Flower Mr. Geo. Quatrebras cott. Gregory William, poulterer

\Villiams, Rev. Henry Blackstone Groves Levi, farmer, Muckleford

(curate) Hawker John, grocer, &c. Muck-

leford

Barrett Peter, carpenter Pope Francis, farmer

Barrett Thomas, blacksmith and Salisbury \Vm. boot & shoe maker

parish clerk Symes, Isaac, farmer

Cox Unni, farmer, Muckleford Thornhill William, land steward

Cox Bernard, farmer Woodcock Thos. Richard, miller

Davis James, farmer Woodland Wm. Tapp, grocer,&c.

BR.ADPOLE, a village 1! miles N. E. from Bridport and 5 S.
from Beaminster. The church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity,
and the living is a discharged vicarage in the patronage of the
Lord Chancellor. The inhabitants of Bradpole anciently buried at
Bridport, but by an agreement made in 1527, between the patrons
and incumbents of the two parishes, the former were allowed to
consecrate a churchyard and bury at Bradpole on granting to the
rector of Bridport the tithe of a piece of land called Shetewell.
The vicar of Bradpole being allowed a dinner of beans and bacon
with the rector of Bridport annually on Midsummer day. The
parish comprises about 1000 acres, and bad in 1841, 1245 inhabitants.

Bishop Mrs, Edmund Carter Miss Maria

Broadley Rev. Alex. M.A. (vicar) Greives Thomas, Esq.

DIRECTORY.] 31 BRADPuLr.

Legg Mrs. J ane Rile Jessie, baker

Prout William, Esq. Rile Robert, fanner and grocer

Snaydon Mrs. Susan Roare William, boot & shoemaker

W akeley Mrs. Charlotte Miller George, farmer

1\Iondon John, tailor

Barratt John, painter and glazier Scaddon Moses, earthenware dea-

Bishop Job, farmer ler

Chappel Susan, beer retailer Seymour Richard, fanner

Chard George, carpenter Ward Thos. and Samuel, masons

Churchill John, dairyman Ward Thomas, brick and draining

Cleal John, cowkeeper pipe maker

Gibbs George 'King's Head' and Wade William, farmer

carpenter Way William, farmer

Gibbs Joseph, farmer and mru!on Whetham Caroline, milliner and

Gibbs William, jun. stonemason dressmaker

BR.EDY-LJTTLE a village 6: miles W. S.W. from Dorchester,
situate near the high road from that town to Bridport. Robert

Williams, Esq. of Bridehead house, is the sole proprietor of this
place; this ~entleman, at his own cost, has lately constructed an
entire new church; the sacred edifice is built of Caen stone which
it is said cost much less than Portland, although the quarries of
the latter are so near at hand. The parochial chapelry of Little-

Bredy with the hamlet of Kingston-Russell comprises 1100 acres,

and about 200 inhabitants.

Eaton Rev. Richard S. M.A. curate Palmer William, tailor
Williams, Robert, esq. Bridehead Slade J ames, boot & shoemaker
Symes Thomas, farmer
House
Churchlll Richard, dairyman Voss John, dairyman
Major Edward, grocery dealer

BR.EDY-LONG a village 8 miles W. of Dorchester and 8 E.

from Bridport. The church, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, is
a plain structure, surmounted by a tower ; the living is a rectory

in the patronage of Robert Williams, Esq. The parish comprises

about 2000 acres, and had in 1841, a population of 340. Post
Office, at Maria Read's. Letter11 arrive via Dorchester at 8 a.m.

and are despatched thereto at 5 p.m.

Foot Rev. Lundy M.A. Rectory Cox George, tailor

Ho1msell Mr. Edmund Fry Charles, farmer

Mansell Moreton Grove,esq.King- Fry Robert, carpenter

ston Russell house Hansford George, dairyman, King-

ston Russell

Bligdon John, blacksmith Hounsell Chas. boot & shoemaker

Cosens J ames, fanner Hounsell Geo. saddler & farmer

BREDY-LONG. 32 [HUNT AND Co.'s

Jeffrey Hannah, farmer Symes Joseph, farmer
Marsh Henry, boot & shoemaker
Palmer Robert, farmer Symes William, dairyman
Roper .Moses, grocery dealer Vine Samuel, ' Long B1·edy Hut'
Samson Thomas, farmer
Simmonds Thomas, dairyman Vine Stephen & Chas. farmers

Warren Juhn, dairyman

BR.J:DPO:R.T, a seaport, parish, market town, and parliamentary
borough, in the hundred of Whitchurch-Canonicorum and division of
Bridport, having separate jurisdiction; distan(135 miles W.S.W. from

London; 71 W. from Southampton ; 30 S. E. from Taunton (where i1

·w.a station on the Bristol<$" Exeter railway); 15 from Dorchester

(at which town terminates the London and Soutlt TVestern railway;)
9 E. from Lyme Regis, and 6 S. from Beaminster.

The town of Bridport is pleasantly situated on a gentle rising, imme-
diately above the confluence of the rivers Brit and Asker, which form
the boundaries of the parish on the East, West and South and towards
which there is a gradual descent. The river falls into the English
Channel, about two miles below the town, where is situate the
harbour, which admits ships of 250 tons burden.

To the Brit and the harbour or port, this town, which existed long
before the Norman conquest, derived its name, and is noticed in
Domesday-book as containing in the time of Edward the Confessor 120
houses, a priory for monks and a mint for coining silver money, con-
vincing proofs of its early importance. Hutchins says: "The manor

anciently belonged to the Crown, and was for several ages held of it

by the burgesses in fee-farm." The earliest charter of which any me-
morial remains, bears date 37 Henry Ill. A.D. (1253). This was sub-
sequently confirmed by Richard Il., Henry VII., Edward VI. and
Elizabeth. By a charter, bearing date 17, James I., greater privi-
legeg were granted to the town, and by another, 18, Charles II., a
court of record and other immunities were conferred in addition, this
was the last charter by which the town was governed ; two others,
granted by James II., having never been acted on. By a charter,
bearing date 22nd June, 23rd, Edward I. (1295) Bridport was con-
stituted a parliamentary borough and became entitled to send two
members to parliament, a privilege which it has continued to exercise
to the present time.

Bridport was noted from a very early period for its manufactures in

hemp and flax, of which a large quantity was grown in the neighbour-
hood, and in the reign of Henry VIII an Act was passed,· that " all
the hemp that grew within five miles of Bridport, should be sold only
in that town, and that no person within five miles of Bridport should
make any cables,s ropes, &c. except for their own use, on pain of
forfeiting all the goods they made." The town still continues to be
noted for its manufacture of sail-cloth, ropes, twines, shoe-thread,
fishing-nets and lines, of the two latter articles a large amount is
annually sent to Newfoundland.

DIRECTORY.] 33 BRIDPORT.

Within the last few years, several additional factories have been
erected and steam-power has been very generally introduced in order
to compensate for the inadequate supply of water in working them.
In the year 1625, the plague was at Bridport, in consequence of
which, an order was made at the Easter sessions, held at Dorchester,

for the collection of £40. weekly, within the division of Dorchester,
Sherborne and Bridport, " towards the relief and sustenance of the
sick and distressed people of the borough of Bridport, now visited with
the plague." The quarter sessions were first held at Bridport, in the
same year, in accordance with an order made by the justices of the
Easter session, and continued alternately with the towns of Blandford,
Sherborne and Shaftesbury, until 18~5, when they were removed
altogether to Dorchester. During the civil wars between Charles I,
and the Parliament, Bridport was the scene of various military opera-
tions and frequently fell into the hands of each party, which happened
to be master ofthe field. In March 1643, Captain Thomas Pyne took

Bridport with 140 horse, and which was afterwards held by Lieutenant
Lea for the Parliament. After the battle of Worcester, Charles II.
appears to have passed through this town, and it is reported he rode

into the court of the George lnn, which being occupied by Cromwell's

party, he left and went to Broadwinsor. These premises were pur-
chased by the late Dr. Roberts, and are now occupied by his successors,
Messrs. Beach and Barnicott, and in memory of the event a small
effi(7y of Charles on horseback is still to be seen mounted on the
roofof the house. In the year 1670 the plague was again here, and
at the Bridport session in 1672 an order was made, allowmg £12, out
of the county stock for the poor of Bridport in the Lazary of Allington.
In Monmouth's rebellion the inhabitants were many of them favour-
ably inclined to h1s cause. On the day after his landing at Lyme he
despatched Ford Lord Grey, a German Count, with 300 men to stmm
Bridport, which they took the next morning; in the conflict, Edward
Coker, Esq. and Wadham Strangeways, M.P. (who were fighting for
t~e king) were killed._ During these calamitous times ma1~y execu-
tions took place at Br1dport, J obn Sprage (or Sprake), Ben Sandford,
John Bennett of Lyme, and nine others, were executed here for
being conc~rned in Monmouth's rebellion, and the great grandfather
of a person who lately died in this town, only escaped the same fate
by remaining under the arch of the West Bridge two days and

nights.
THE HARBOUR. The earliest record extant relating to the

harbour, bears date the 8th, Edward I. when the borough of Bridport

claims to have toll, for which the burgesses paid to the king 20s. at
Michaelmas, they also claim to have the stones and sand, wherever the
sea ebbs and flows, which liberties they and their ancestors had always

used. In the 12th, Richard ll. (A. D. 1388-9) John Huddersfield

obtained a grant from the king, for carrying on such a work, (of im-
proving the port) for which he was to have a half-penny toll for every

BRIDPORT. 84 (HONT AND CO.'S

horse load of goods imported or exported there. In the 22nd, Henry
VI, (1443-4) the bishop of Sarum granted an indul()'ence for building

and repairing a new port at Brydeport, called "B~ydeport haven,''

for the preservation of merchants and mariners, but in 1721 the
harbour was in a deJ.>lorable condition, and an Act was obtained "for
restoring and rebmlding the haven and piers, and for making a
sluice," the works however were not commenced till the year 1741,
and was finished in the following year. Towards the expense, Lord
Deerhurst and George Richards, Esq. (the representatives) contributed
£3,500, Richard Brodrepp, sen. Esq. recorder, £1,000, and the town
£500, further improvements were also made in 1756. The act of
1721 remained in operation till the year 1823, when a new one was
obtained, and in accordance with it a basin was constructed on a

larger scale and the harbour otherwise improved, at an expence of
from seventeen to twenty thousand pounds. Since this time further
improvements have taken place by extending the quay wall in front
of the ship yard, erecting a flood gate at the entrance, strengthening
the piers, &c. &c.; still no effectual means have been discovered for
gettmg rid of the sand bar, which constantly forms between the pier,
and by which the depth of water at this part is materially lessened.
The November gale of 1824 was severely felt at this harbour, the
water is stated to have risen in a continuous sheet as far as Port
Mill, near the old brewery, a large quantity of the bulk timber l}ing
at the harbour, was floated up into the marshes, and some of the
vessels were drifted up on the quay ; during the night, distress guns
were fired, and two vessels which had been lying off were both
wrecked, and all hands perished. One of the most severe gales which
has been experienced on this coast since, took place on Sunday the
4th October, 1846, and two following days, when the water a~ain
rose above the level of the quays, carrying many of the bulks into
the basin on its reflux, and entering several dwellings, but fortunately
no serious damage was sustained a similar gale, occurred about nine
years ago.

The town of Bridport chiefly consists of three spacious well-
paved, and gas-lit streets, diverging from the town-hall and
designated East street, West street, and South street : many of the
houses in these streets are handsome erections, especially in the
former, where numerous excellent shops and some good private
dwellings are situated. Of late years the harbour has been very much
improved and several new houses have been erected on each side of
it, as well as on each side of the road that leads from the harbour to
the town. The Town Hall, a handsome structure of brick, faced
with Portland stone, stands in the centre of the town, and contains
the borough sessions court, the grand jury room, and the council
chamber, and beneath these offices, the basement story of the building
serves as a commodious market house.

The manu{actu,ring and maritime operations of this truly mer-

DIRECTORY.] 35 BRIDPORT.

cantile town, assume a most important feature in its commerce, being

carried out on an exten<~ive scale with considerable energy and spirit.

Vast quantities of rope and twine, fishing nets and lines, shoe-thread

and sail cloth, much of which is sent coastwise and much abroad,

are, as before stated, manufactured here, and with the weaving of

cotton, woollen and girth webs and sacking, furnish employment to

many hundreds of industrious operatives, both in the town and in its

vicinity. Ship building also contributes its quota of labour to a

number of useful artizans, whose skill in that description of handi-

craft has long been admitted: many fine vessels are built at Bridport

for the English, Scotch, and Irish service; such as Leith smacks,

traders, revenue cutters and some other craft. Thousands of tubs,

firkins and half-firkins of butter for which Dorset is so justly cele-

brated and hundreds of tons of cheese are annually shipped at this

port for the London market. Besides which, many vessels are con-

tinually being freighted here with coals and grain in large

quantities, together with some few othP.r articles of general consump-

tion, and their cargoes consigned coastwise for the supply of numerous

near and distant towns, situated both inland and on the coast, whilst

others are busily engaged in bringing hither the produce of far-off

counties and foreign climes, consisting of coals from the North of

England and South Wales, with iron from the latter place; timber

from America and Norway; hemp, flax and timber from Russia

and the Baltic ; wines from Portugal, brandies from France, and

spirits from various parts of the V nited Kingdom and froiil abroad.

Suitable cellars and warehouses for honding the ditfereut articles

subject to duty imported here, are conveniently situated at the

harbour close to the ships' sides, where, also, is the Custom house.

The~Church is a fine cruciform structure, presenting an excellent

specimen of purely Gothic architecture. It is dedicated to St. .Mary,

and consists of a nave with side aisles, north and south transepts

and a chancel with an aisle on each side, extending its whole length.

A square embattled tower, 72 feet in height and adorned with

pinnacles, rises from the centre of the building, containing six bells, a

clock, and a chiming apparatus. The curfew is regularly rung at

eight o'clock. From the style of the building, it appears likely that

th1s Church was erected towards the close of the 14th century or

soon after. St. Andrew's Chapel formerly stood in the centre of

the town, occupying the site of the present market-house. The

rector of Bridport was from time immemorial bound to maintain a

chaplain in this chapel to celebrate divine service daily there, and

say mass every Saturday and Sunday, and vespers every day in

Lent, and at other times to dissolve the penitents and hear confes-

sionals. This chapelry was dissolved 35th Henry Vlll. St.

Michael's Chapel, which stood in some part of St. Micbael's Lane,

contained two cbantries, one of them, endowed by MRiochbaeertl,F" aorirna~-rdiodn-,
was styled "t he chantry in the free chapel of St.

BRIDPORT. 36 [HUI'\T AND CO.'S

port chantry, which was ordered to be made in the 16th Edward II.,
and a rent of six marks to be granted. Nicholas Michel being pre·
sented to this chantry, the bishop ordered it to be endowed, February
16th, 1324. With regard to the other chantry, it appears that iu

22nd Edward Ill., licence was granted to John lVhmdene and

Christian his wife, to give 12 messuages and four acres of land, for
two char,Iains in St. Michael's chapel, remain two carucates (about
200 acres) of land in Symondsbury and Bilshay. Nicholas Bourtop
and Nicholas de Portland to maintain a chantry and celebrate divine
service for his soul and the soul of Christian his late wife, &c., each

priest was to have yearly for maintenance and clothing lOOs., and
for bread, wine and candles, lOs. The priory of St. John the

Baptist is supposed to have been founded in the reign of king John,
and to have been of the Carthusian Order, it stood immediately on
the south-west side of the East Brid&e, where now stands the
building known as cc Marquess of Granby." John Shapwick
appears to have been prior in 1534. Some portions of this ancient
building still remain. St. Leonard's Chapel stands on the east side of
South street, and was lately used as a public-house called the
H Castle." It is a venerable piece of architecture, and is preserved
nearly in a perfect state to the present day. It is entered by a
high projecting porch having a room over, which is carried up and
fimshed in a gable fronting the street. The front presents a very

unique appearance, in the olden style. St. James's Chapel or

Oratory is still to be seen in North street. It is built of stone, with
square-headed windows and a stone-covered roof. It is supposed to
have been annexed to some other religious house, and soon after the
dissolution used as a dwelling-house, as it still continues to be.

Dun{!eness is the name by which an old building below the
church in South street, is known at the present day. It is an ancient
and lofty buildin~; little, however, but the exterior now remains in
its former state, It having been of late years gent>rally inhabited by
some poor families. There exists a tradition that a subterranean
passage leads from hence to the church.

DisSENTING CHAPELS. The Independents have a large chapel in
Barrack street. In 1845 a dispute arose respecting the choice of a
minister, on which the congregation divided, those favourable to their
former minister obtained the old Wesleyan chaJ?el in North street, and
re-opened it as an Independent place of worship, under the name of
"Salem Chapel." The Wesleyans have a new chapel (opened in
November, 1838), at the entrance of South street, in it they have a

new finger organ, erected in 1845, expense about £160. The Uni-
tarians have a spacious chapel on the north side of East street, which
having undergone complete repair, was re-opened on the 16th of
September, 1847, a new finger organ, expense about £170., was al50
performed on for the first time. The Quaker's chapel is in South

street, nParly opposite St. Mary's church, this sect of religionists is

DIRECTORY.) 37 BRIDPORT.

gradually diminishing. The Baptist.'l in the year 1841 erected a
chapel in New street, in the parish of Bradpole, and the Roman
Catholics in the year 1845-6, built a small chapel in the decorated
style of architecture further north in the same street, and dedieated
it to St. Mary and St. Catherine.

A mechanics' institute and a saving's bank are situated in East

street, a clturch free-school on the National system, for boys and girls
in South street, and a Wesltyan infant school in West street. The

weekly markets are held on 'Nednesday and Saturday; and FAIRS

on April 6th for cattle, sheep and cheese, the Tuesday in Whitsun

week (at the harbour), and October llth for cattle, sheep, cheese

and pedlery. The borough of Bridport extends far beyond its
ancient limits and now comprises portions of the several parishes of
Allington, Bothenhampton, Bradpole, Burton-Bradstock, Symonds-
bury, and Walditch. The population of the borough and varish
in 1841, was returned as being 6,333, and at the present time is
about 6,500.

The adjacent country is highly picturesque, and, from several
of the heights beyond the vale, many fine views may be obtained
of the town, the harbour, and the sea. Golden Cape is the loftiest
eminence in this vicinity, and serves as a valuable land-mark to mari·
ners.

ALLINGTON. This parish lies on the west of the river Brit,
immediately adjoining Bridport, and the principal part of it is now
included wtthin the limits of the borough. The living is a perpetual
curacy, formerly a chapelry to Bridport rectory.

The earliest mention of it occurs in the year 1262, when Giles
de Bridport,* Bishop of Sarum, on founding the college of Vaux, new

" The family of Hood or de Bridport, is a very ancient one, they
obtained their surname from dwelling in this town, and on removin~
into Somersetshire, still retained it. The titles of Viscount and Baron
are conferred on this family by Britlport. On the 11th of March, 1256,
Giles de Bridport was consecrated Bi!,hop of Sarum, and dnrin~ his
episcopate, the cathedral of that city was finished, it was consecrated
on the SOth of September, 1258 in the presence of Henry Ill., and
a great assembla~e of nobles, who were entertained at dinner by the
Bishop. He died Dec. 1Sth, 1262, at which time he held the rectories
of Allin~ton, Walditch and Milborne St. Andrew. He lies interred in
the south side of the choir in Salisbury Cathedral, enshrlned iu a marble

tomb. Viscount (Samuel) Hood, who was born at Butley in Somerset,
in the year 17~4, was in 1756 appointed to command the "Antelope,"
of 50 gnns, in which he captured a French ship of about equal force.
In 1778 he became a baronet, and in 1780 wa11 promoted to the rank of
Rear Admiral, two years after hP. was created an Irish peer, and in
1793 was appointed to command the Mediterranean Fleet. He- was
raised to the English peerage in 1796, and aftPrward:~ received the
Grand Cross ofthe Bath, be died in the year 1816, in his 92nd year.

K

BRIDPORT. 38 (HUNT AND CO'.s

Sarum gave this benefice, with others, to that college, where it
remained until the Restoration.

The old church has been demolished and a new one in the Grecian
or Italian style was erected, on a more commodious site, in the year
1827, it is dedicated to St. Swithin. St. Mary Magdalen's Hospital
stood at the western extremity of the parish, this establishment seems
from its early foundation to have been appropriated to the cure of the
leprosy, those afHicted with this loathsome disease were cast off from
society and not allowed to ask alms. This building has been for a
long time tota1Iy destroyed, and its site is now occupied by some old
almshouses, given in trust to the churchwardens of Bridport.

POST & MONEY ORDER OFFICE, East street. Po$tmaster,

John Prince. Letters are delivered at 7 45 & 9, 45 morn. and 8

evening. DESPATCHES to London, day mail at 8 15 a.m.; night

mail at 7 15 p.m. Box closes at 6 p.m., letters may be posted to

7 p.m. by affixing an extra Id. stamp. Taunton at 3 25 p.m. Box

closes at 3 p.m., but letters may be posted till 3 20 p.m. by affixing
an extra Id. stamp. Exeter at 6 a.m. Box closes 10 p.m.

MESSENGERS FOR

Allington, R. Stone. Bridport, H. Payne. Burton Bradstock, J.
Bassett. Milton, E. Baker. '\Vhitechurch Canonicorum, W. E.Payne

Gentry, Clergy, Ac. Gundry Mrs. Elizth. E. West st.

Balston Mr. Geo. Barrack street Gundry Joseph, esq. Hyde house

Battiscombe Mrs. Elizabeth, East Gundry SamL Bowden, esq. West

cottaae street

Bools Miss Sarah, East street Hill Rev. William ( Wesleyan mi-

Broadley Rev. Robert, (rector), nister) South street

South street Hodder James, esq. West street

Brown Mr. John C. East street Hounsell John, esq. East street

Colfox Miss Harriet, West mead Hounsell Joseph, esq. East street

Colfox William, esq. Rax house Hounsell Thos.Collins;esq. Wykes

Fox Rev. Hen. West Allington court

Good Mr. Daniel, Harbour Hounsell Thomas, jun. esq. Wykes

Graves Thomas. esq. Beaminster court

road Hounsell Wm. esq. W ykes court

Gundry Benj. esq. West street I Hussey Stephen, esq. East street

Viscount Bridport, younger brother of Viscount Hood, -was mad~ Rear
.Admiral in 1780. On the 2Srd June, 1795, he gained a complete
victory ove1' the French fleet off Port l'Orient, and took three ships
of the line. In 1796 he was appointed to command the Channel Fleet,
which he held tilllSOO. He was aftennrdsraised to the peerage by
tbe Titles of Baron and Viscount Bridport, and died at Bath, in the
year 1814, he lies at Wootton, Somerset. The present country seat of
thi!~ family is Cricket House, Somer:u~t. Town residence in Wimpole
St•eet.

J>IRECTORY.) 39 BRIDPORT.

Lee Mrs. Elizth. \Vest mead Green Jas. farm bailiff, N. Al-

Matthews Mrs. Sarah, West AI- linton

lington Green Wm. chirnney sweeper, N.

Mitchell Mrs. P. Harbour road Allinaton Co. fla~ ~ hemp
Hill John &
Nicholson Rev. Wm. (curate o

Rridport) Harbour road merchants, West Allington

Perham Misi Mary, South street Hounsell, Schenck & Hounsell,

Rawlinson Rev. Henry (curate o merchants, Wykes court, & at

W.Symondsbury) Allinat.on Newfoundland

Searle Mr. Richard. Allington James Richard, land surveyor,

Short Rev. John, (Unitarian mi- South street

nister), East road Lome Richd. sail maker, Harbour

Smith Mr. William, W. Allington Major Jas. high bailiff to county

Stent Mr. Wm. West Allin~ton court, West street

Swain William, esq. Harbour Mechanics Institute, East street;

Swain William, jun. esq. East st secretary, Williams Jas. esq.;

Templer James, esq. Rax lane !ibrarian, Balston John

Templer Rev. Wm. (incumbent M1tchell Mary, market gardener,

of Walditch), Rax lane Allerton. .
Tucker Mrs. Elizabeth, South st. Olver Damel, agent to th~ Clms-

y oung Rev. Thomas, (Baptist tian Knowledge Society, East

WamllianciseteRre)~. Allinaton street South st.;
Tho;. (Independent
Police S!ation 4" Gaol,

WymlidniRsteevr.)'JWoseepsth,AlWli~na.ton(lnde- sRuo_poe~remr;tengdato.,l Champ Samuel
keeper, Moulton

pendent minister), W. A1lington .W•lham
R1chards Mary, umbrella maker,

Miscellany of Traders, 6.c. West street

Not arranged in the succeeding list&. RoAlbelrts toGeo. account(lnt, West
Brm. son Joh~,hatter, mg n
W~st street. South street
Slade Geo. turner,

Bugler Dav1d, commercaal travel- Stembridge Simeon clothe• sale•-

ler, West Allington man, SOuth stree't

Colfox Wm. woo/stapler, Westst. Stroud Thomas, book binder, East
Cous~ns George, cutler, North street

Allmgton Swain John harbour master
Cox John, ship builder, Harbour Downe str:et '

Curme Geo. P.parishclerk, West Tucker Wm. nurseryman, Eastst

street 1 Union Poor House, Barrack st.;

Custom house, Harbour, collector, master Ames Benjamin. mis-
tide ~ landing coast waiter, tress, Ames Sarah
'
LoveThomas; controller,Blag- White Wm. must~ block maker,

don Thomas Harbour

Dinham Henry, a11sistant overseer

Barrack street. . AuctloDeer• end Apprei•ers.
Forsey Theophilus, datryman,
South street Bastow Hen. Downe street
Gas worh, South street; secre- Cor~ick Richard (and architect)

tary, Gillard Wm. S. West street

E2

BRIDPORT. 40 [HUNT AND CO.'S

Bakers. Follett James, Folly mill lane

Marked thus • are Confectioners Foster John, St. Michael's lane

also. Fowler Richard, Barrack street

Alien Uriah, Folly mill lane Froomlsaac, Barrack street

Balson George, West Allington Fry J ames, North Ailington

Balson Wm. North Allington Fry William, South street

Bames Charles, South street Gale John, South street

•Bradford George, East street Gape John, South street

Collins Jas. North .Allington Garland ·william, West street

Eveleigh John, West Allington Gosney Robert, South street

Forsey- John Allington Granger John, East street

Hart Charles, South street Hart John, West Allington

Hodder Bernard, Allington Hawker Elizabeth, King of Prus-

Hodder Walter G South st. sia lane

Pitcher Mary, St. Michael's lane Hounsell Robert, North Allington

Rendall George, King of Prussia Hyde Esau, Barrack street

lane Knight Matthew, Allington

Rendall Wm. North Allington Munden .John, South street

Richards Geo. F. East street Payne David, North Allington

•Roberts Geo. Fras. West end Pearse Samuel, North Allington

1tSmith Ann, West street Powell Mark, St. Michael's lane

Spillers William, Barrack street Rawles Richard, Harbour road

Stevens Matthew, East street Rendall Samuel, Allington

Stickland George, South street Roberts Thomas, South street

Thatcher Thomas, South street Squibb George, South street

Thomas John, East street Stevens Matthew, East street

iV-lay Isaac, South street Thomas Levi, South street

Welch William, South street Welch Ann, South street

Williams .Tames, East street

Banks. Woodward W alter, East street

Williams Robert and Herbert,
West street; manager, Good Berlln Wool Warehouses.

Frederick, draw upon Williams, Ruddy & Dabinett (and fancy

Deacon & Co London stationer~) East street

Savings' Bank, East street. Tucker Francis, South street

Open on Wed. from 1 till 2, Blacksmiths,
treasurer, Drayton John; ac-

tuary, Williaws Jas. Fry Samuel, North Allington

Fry William, South street

Basket Makers. Hawker Stephen, East street

Cook Robert, West street Knight John (and veterinary sur-
Richards John, West street geon), East street

Parris .Joel, South street

Beer Retailer&. Turner Thomas, South street

Balson George, North Allington Turner William, East street

Biddlecombe Thos. St. Michael's

lane Booksellers &. Stationer&.

Farnham Mary, West street Brown John, West street

DIRECTORY.] 41 BRIDPORT.

Frost William Chas. East street Cooper Joseph, North Allington

Prince John (and library) East Goddard Henry, Harbour road

street Gollop William, East stret>t

Tucker Francis (&library, reading Legg Thomas, South street.

rooms, music & toy warehouse) Patten James & Henry, Kmg of

South street Prussia lane

Boot & Shoemakers. Patten William, South street
Ward Samuel, East road
Balson Samuel, Allington
Bridle William, North street Brickmakers.

Brownsell J ames, South street Batten Christopher, N. A.llington
Bucknole Samuel, Allington Comick & Sons, West Allmgton
Morey William, North Allington
Caines David, East street Ward Thomas, (&draining pipe)
Cox Samuel, South street
Crabb Peter, West street Bradpole road
Crabb Thomas, East street

Curtis Jeremiah, West street Builders.
Dean James, East street
Diller Samuel, South street Comick & Sons, West street
Dodge Augustus, East street Galpin Frederick, South !lltreet
Ellis William, South street
Hain Henry, Allington Gerrard J ames, Barrack street

Rockett John, St. Michael's lane

Hallett Benjamin, West street .Butchers,

Hart George, East street Balson Arthur, West Allinoton

Hr.de Robert, Barrack street Hallett Joseph, (and pouiterer)
Milverton Geo. West Allington West street

Northover John S. South street Marsh George, N. Allington

Pike John, West street Olver William, South street

Rocket Robert, South street Salisbury William, East street
Slade Ant.hony, Barrack street

Stembridge David, 2, Prospect pl. Butter & Cheese ~actors.

Stevens John, Harbour road J etferies Jas. Henry, Barrack st

Stickland Richard, South street Reader William, South street

Stocker Joseph, South street Tucker & Co. East street
Warren Thomas, South street

Way Thomas, St. Michael's lane Cabinetmakersl&.trpholsterers.

Braasrounders. Budden Wm. GWundry lane
. . . Curme Henry, est street
Dolhn John (& ballmg machme Gage Thomas, Folly mill lane

maker) East street . Larcombe John Case, East street

Samson Gerrard (and Iron) East Lawrence Job, East street

street Northover Charles, South street

Brewers & M:altsters. Strong Peter (chair only) \Vest st

Gundry, Downe & Co. South st. Carpenters and ~olDen.

Legg Thomas, Gundry lane Best George, North Allington

Bricklayers • Plasterers. Budden William, Gundry lane

Cooper John, North street Dollin John, East street

EE

BRIDPORT. 42 (HUNT AND eo's

Carpenters, &c. CONTINUED. Swedish and Jllorwegian, Good
Hyde Esau, Barrack street
Daniel, Bridport hm:bour

Keeping William, West street Coopers.
Rappsey Jesse, South street

Rawles Richard, Harbour road Andress Richard, South street

Cook Robert, West street

Carver and Glider. Foot John, East street

Riehards William (and printseller) Trayte John, South street
Warren J ames, Allington
East street

Chemists & Druggists. Curriers & :Leather Sellers.

Beach & Barnicott (& proprietors Hockey Robert, (leather seller
only) St. Michael's hme
ofthe poor man's friend) East st.
Coppock John, East str~et Restarick Edward (leather seller
only) East street
Crease Walsingham, West street
· Kni~ht Edwd. Sackville, West st. Roper John, East street
Turner William E. East street
Tucker Charles, South street

China, Glass, &c. Dealers. Dyers-Silk. and Cotton.

Bonnor Thomas, West street Lazenbury Samuel, West street
Ebdon Richard, Market place Read John, 'Vest street
Harvey Benjamin, Barrack street
rarmers.

Locker William (&Birmingham & Biddlecome Daniel, Allington

Sheffield warehouse) East street Hodder James, West Allington

Marsh John, North Allington

Coach Builders. Matthews Joseph, South street

Deem John & Son, South street Olver Richard, South street

Fudge Thomas, East street Spencer Jesse, North Allington

Symes John, Church lane Tucker Samuel, Allington

Tucker Thomas, West Allington

Coal Merchants,

Fox, Tucker & Co. Bridport bar- :r'ire & Life Assurance Agents.
bour Thus • denotes Fire ; thus ~ Life.

Rebbeck James, South street *§Church of England, Ebdon Rd.

Selwood and Whetham, Bridport Market place

harbour §Clerical, Medical and General,

Swain & Son, Bridport harbour Knight Robert, West Allington

Tucker & Co. Bridport harbour *District, Frost Wm. Chas.Eastst

*§Guardian, Gillard William Sal-

Confectioners. ter, Harbour road

See also Bakers. *§Industrial &General~ Deposit,

Howe Richard James, East street Coppock John, East street

Turner George South street *§§KLeengtMalu~tuaClo,mBamsteorwcHian.lD, oN·""eWw'Tbleuerrsyt

'

Consuls-Vice. Charles, West strE'et

IAmerica, Nicholletts Edwin, *§London Corporation, 'Varr Wm.
East street East street

D'IB.ECTORY . ) 43 BRIDPORT.

Minerva, Frost Wm. Chs. East st Warr 'Vm. (& dealer in British

National Provident, Monteith wines), East street

John, Barrack street Whetham Stephen, \Vest street

§*Norwich Union, Nicholetts

& Burridge, East street Grocery and Sundrie,s-&-

*§Royal Exchange, Cornick and Dealers in.

Sons, West street Alien Peggy, South street

§Royal Farmers'. Good .,Fredk. Balson George, West Allington

Dorsetshire bank Best Georrre, North Allington
§Royal 1-laval, Military ~ E_ast Collman 1\fary, East street

India Co. Knight Edw. Sackv1lle, Cox Catharine, South street

West street Foan Charles, w-est street
§Solicitors ~ General, Gummer Forsey Johq, West Allington

Stephen Henry, South street Grinter John, West street

*§Star, Bartlett Francis, East st. Hall Ann, Bridport harbour

§Universal,Hounsell Thos.North st Hart Charles, South street

*§West of England, Templer Hen. Harvey Benjamin, Barrack street

Rax lane Hodder George, South street

Fishing Net Makers. Hopkins John, Allington
Hopkins John, St. Michael's lane
See line, twine, ~ &!we thread
manufacturer&, ~c. Keech, Joseph, Allington
Larcombe John, South street
:E'la:x and Tow Spinners, Larcombe John Case, East street
Lome Richard, Bridport harbour
Luff James, South street

Ewens Thos. &Sons, WestAlling- Moore John, East street

ton Neil Eliza, Bridport harbour

Hounsell Wm. &Co. Wykescourt NPwbery Frauces,KingofPrussia

Pymore Mill Co., Pymore; mana- lane

. ger, Suttill John Osborne William, South street

'Whetham Stephen & Sons, South Pitcher Mary, St. Michael's lane

street Russell Agnes, South street

Seymour Hobert, East street
Glove &Gaiter Manufacturers, 1Stevens Sm·ah, East street

Biddlecome Thomas E. West st. Tizzard Alfred, St. 1\lichael's lane

Edmunds George & Co. South .st Way Isaac, South street
\Vlute Emma, South street

Grocers and Tea-dealers. Woodward w-alter, East street

Bennett Samuel, (& tallow chand- Hair Dreasers.
ler) East street
Granger John, \Vest street
Chick Sarah R. East street
Gully Joseph, South street
Collins William, East stJeet
Olver Daniel, East street
Ebdon Richard, Market place

Holmwood Elizabeth, \Vest street Olver John, South street

Pitcher Sarah Ann, West street Pike John, 'Vest street

Reader William, South street Turner William, South strtet

Tucker John, South street \Voodward Waiter, East street


Click to View FlipBook Version
Previous Book
23.05.2018 https://rankexperience.com/articles/article1863.html 1/2 Why "Bait and Switch" Does More Harm Than Good – Professional Opinion By The Expert Of Semalt, Natalia Khachaturyan The Content Strategist of Semalt, Natalia Khachaturyan, says that the b
Next Book
Semalt Expert De¡nes Social Media As An Effective Email Marketing Tool