The Masters of Marketing Administration is an educational advancement for training of business owners and their administrative and support staff on the Viva System—a system that puts in place the
ideal residual business model for consumer
acquisition, loyalty and retention.
Copyright © 2016 by Gregory Hughes, Viva Concepts, LLC. All rights reserved. Grateful acknowledgement is made to L.Ron Hubbard Library for permission to reproduce selections from the copyrighted works of L. Ron Hubbard. HUBBARD is a trademark used pursuant to a license agreement. Printed in USA. IA # 102017. This book or any portion thereof may not be reproduced or used in any manner whatsoever without the express written permission of the publisher except for the use of brief quotations in a book review. Printed in the United States of America. First Printing, 2016
Overview of External Marketing
Viva’s keynote is bringing you, the owner and your entire team a greater education and understanding of the subject of marketing-a subject that ultimately controls your practice growth.
This manual was compiled from an enormous amount of research, metrics and analytics in the healthcare industry.
Purpose of this course: To give the student an overview of the different methods of marketing - how they work, what they cost and how besst to optimize a marketing budget for your practice.
There are numerous methods of marketing and each of them are simply different ways to attract new patients. The cost of each varies from very low to extremely high thus it is imperative to understand the cost and effectivenes.
In managing any business it becomes vital to obtain an understanding of the key marketing platforms and methods. Otherwise you can find yourself simply “hopscotching” from one type of marketing to the other. In other words, many practices “try this,” and then “try that,” and so on—all in an effort to save money or to obtain a better result.
Our goal is to inform you so you know before spending absorbidant amounts of funds.
Vital to your marketing success, is monitoring the success of your campaigns. Put a system in place (and keep it in). Always keep track and numbers to see the return on investment (ROI) from your marketing dollars being spent.
Key Marketing Platforms & Methods
Local online advertising is big business being targeted by large corporations like Google, Yelp, Yodle, Angie’s List, Reach Local, Groupon to name a few. They offer local advertising specials to small businesses with a “legal guarantee.” Cost for online marketing has escalated over the past 3 years. Below are the main marketing methods used in today’s dental industry.
Internet: This is Pay Per Click C (PPC) for ad words.
Internet: Reviews done online to rate your business.
Internet: Bundled Internet marketing (ad words, websites, social media, email marketing).
Internet: A method of designing a website so that it comes up near the top of a search engine when someone searches for a keyword.
Internet: Designed website requiring hosting/maintenance.
Internet: Email, texting service, social media (constant contact, lighthouse 360, mailchimp)
Land Marketing: Neighborhood cart routes and database mailings via post office.
Internal Marketing: Word-0f-Mouth handouts.
Google Ad Words
Google Ad Words is an advertising service by Google for businesses wanting to display ads on Google and its advertising network. The Ad Words program enables businesses to set a budget for advertising and only pay when people click the ads.
Cost Per Click (CPC): This is the cost a business pays per click when buying ad words from Google. The cost varies depending on the bid, the highest bid is placed first when searching for that business (i.e.) a dentist, a plumber, home improvement, etc.
Click Through Rate (CTR): This is the number of people who CLICK an ad and respond to the business. A click through is normally accomplished by the person filling out a form or calling the business.
Conversion Rate: This is the number of people who “arrive” either to the business or a website for actual purchase of a service or product.
What Google Ads Look Like!
Step 1: You enter a search. The example below is a search for a “Local Dentist.”
Step 2: The “Ad Words” can be seen as they say “Ad” in a green box.
Average Cost of Google Ad Words
Average Cost Per Click:
Average Management Fee Per Month:
1) Average # of Clicks/Month: 129
2) Average click through rate (leads) 4.58% =
3) Average # of patient consultations arrived in office = 3.2
Here’s the Math
129 clicks x $6.23 Management Fee Total:
5 to 6 leads
= $803 = $400 $1,203
Cost per Lead: $200
Cost per Patient: $1,203 / 3.2 = $375
Yelp generates almost all of its revenue from advertising—91.4 percent in 2011. It remains consistent to present day. They do two kinds of advertising:
Local advertising from businesses that want to be featured on Yelp, which is 76.8 percent of total ad revenue. This advertising places “Consumer Reviews” and search words for “dentist” or similar phrases. You pay for advertising for both your ads for your office and for your consumer reviews.
Brand advertising, i.e. display and text ads on Yelp.com, which increases traffic from search engines.
Sample of a Yelp Ad
Cost of Yelp vs Google Ad Words
During the same time frame of two Internet campaigns, one with Yelp and the other with Google Ad Words: , this office received 1,748 impressions from his Ad Words account vs. 250 from Yelp.
The total projected cost is about half the cost of Yelp per month, and it delivered 7x the im- pressions than Yelp.
Cost Per Click (CPC)
Google’s Ad words auction system is designed so that you pay the lowest cost per click to maintain your ad position (referred to as the Ad words Discounter). The cost for Google Ad Words is covered on the previous page.
With Yelp advertising the amount you pay is primarily determined by Yelp – there’s no real-time auction to ensure you pay the minimum.
Cost of Yelp vs. Google = Yelp is 75%-100% higher
Yodle Internet Marketing
Yelp bundles a series of marketing items such as websites, social media like Facebook, email marketing and “customer reviews” as well as ad words (pay per click, like Google) and “special offers.”
Bundled advertising; Yodle builds a website and promises to get your business on the first page of a search within 90 days. They work on “Search Engine Optimization” to bring about higher search visibility for websites.
Their services are bundled and you can add additional services, each increases your monthly cost.
Yodle’s cost varies depending on how much advertising you want per month and how many services you “bundle” when you buy their services. The services have pros and cons. In our market research, these large internet companies are struggling with a combination of both good and bad reviews. It is an evolving market with with regularly changing technology.
Cost of Yodle Marketing = $300 to $2500 per month
Website: Today’s “Yellow Pages”
Overview: Researcher, John Schneble, president, Steelteal Marketing, identifies four general price ranges for websites:
1) Less than $1,000 2) $1,000-$2,500 3) $2,500-$5,000 4) $5,000 +
Under $1,000: These websites will typically have one person designing and developing. They come with very little, if any, custom design and no real strategic input.
$1,000-$2,500: For this price, you should expect strategic insight, as well as some input on information architecture and social media marketing.
$2,500-$5,000: This is really the sweet spot for most small businesses. You’ll get comprehensive and thoughtful input on the design of the website.
$5,000+: Generally, this price range is dictated by larger websites (100+ pages) which require a larger time investment from both a design and development perspective.
Cost: Average cost: $250 to $500 per month
These fees include annual domain registration, hosting fees, web updates, re-branding
At the end of the day, websites are here to stay.
Search Engine Optimization
Definition: Search Engine Optimization is a system of steps done on our website, its content, links, videos and pages to increase the number of visitors to your website by ensuring the site appears high on the list of results returned by a search engine
Cost: Average cost: $750 to $1200 per month
Results are rarely guaranteed. The answer to “it’s not working”
is: “you need to spend more money to make it work.”
If you hire an SEO company to improve your placement and you measure their worth on the basis of how high they get you in the rankings, then you are out of line with what Google is trying to achieve.
Over the long term Search Engine Optimization companies will lose, because Google is constantly changing how it rates websites so it can provide more accurate results.
Ref: The Inconvenient Truth About SEO by Paul Boag
Marketing Scale of Importance
The scale represented below is a guideline for use in determining what type of marketing is vital, necessary, optional or unnecessary. This scale was developed based on market research and analysis to assist doctors, their marketing staff and employees as a guide to making decisions. The scale factors in most effective cost and marketing that results in continual long- term practice growth.
Note: For a new business and/or practice, Direct Mail and Google Ad Words reverse in hierarchy where Direct Mail is 2nd on the pyramid, Google Ad Words is 3rd and Internal Marketing is 4th. Once there is an established database, the hierarchy reverts back.
Direct Mail Land Marketing
Local Neighborhood & Community Marketing
Direct Mail Marketing: Your Geo-Fence
Geo-fence: a geo-fence is a virtual perimeter for a real-world geographic area. A geo-fence could be dynamically generated—as in a radius around a store or point location, or a geo-fence can be a predefined set of boundaries, like school attendance zones or neighborhood boundaries. Source: Wikipedia
The diagram below illustrates the concept of neighborhood ownership. The most vital action for any business upon opening is to establish a geofence that surrounds the business. This geofence is where 90-95% of your consumers (or patients) are located.
In the dental industry this geo-fence1 is an average of a 1 to 2 mile radius from the address of the office. The largest situation that every business encounters when they open for business is that the local neighborhood does not know who you are or what you do.
They have no idea who the owner is and no idea of where you are located. Yet the business, or dental practice, is locat- ed right in the neighborhood where these people would travel for services.
There is only one form of external marketing to become known in your neighborhoods... and this is direct mail.
The Geo-fence: Average Radius of 1-2 Miles
Conduct your own survey! Over the past 20 years thousands of neighborhood homes directly within blocks of the practice where asked two simple questions:
1) Do you know who Dr. Jones is and
2) Where he is located? Each survey was 100 different homes in two separate directions...a total of 200 surveys.
Of the 200 surveys completed around hundreds of dental practices, in over 98% of the surveys, 200 out of 200 surveyed homes said, "no" to both questions above!
Try the survey yourself! It will utterly astound you, no matter how many years you have been there.
Neighborhood & Community Ownership
The only method to rapidly identify your business by people in your local neighborhoods is through neighborhood mailers. Direct mail (neighborhood mailers) surpass every other type of marketing.
If one lacks education, their direct mail efforts can fail utterly; therefore, it is vital that one learn and intelligently apply the laws of direct mail. Foremost is identifying your location in all mailings... this concept is
known as "Tail of the Kite."
Your office must be branded and then identified in relation to a nationally advertised company,
such as Starbucks, Walmart, Home Depot, McDonald's an iconic or one could also select
well known landmark located by your practice, such as a famous park, or bridge, etc.
In using the "Tail of the Kite" you are capitalizing on the millions of advertising dollars being spent to
"identify" or "locate" your office in an instant!
Regency Dental Care Logo Rides on the "Tail of the Kite"
COMPETITION & MARKET SHARE
A company’s market share is the percentage it controls of the total market for its products and services.
All industries contend with competitors in obtaining new customers. Dentistry is no different. Market share is acquired by several activities, foremost is making the dental office, known to the community.
At first glance, this appears simple but in fact is rarely done by most businesses.
What is the formula to bring about increased market share for a local business?
The following steps give the most important overview and actions to increase market share:
1. Differentiate Your Business:
Branding: Create a strong brand, logo, colors, something unique that
2. Know Your Target Public:
Females and children are the single largest target public in building long term practice growth.
3. Promote Your Business:
Neighborhood and Community Marketing: Neighborhood Mailer plan & community marketing, starting with local surrounding business owners and their employees.
Direct Mail Marketing Neighborhood & Community Dominance
Unquestionably the most significant method of obtaining neighborhood and community dominance and market share is through repetition of direct mail. Direct mail however can be ineffective without an understanding of 4 KEY factors.
1. The OFFER.
2. A HIGH open rate! 3. Repetition
4. Call Conversion
How Do Your Patients Want to be Contacted?
Research from dentistbranding.com
Direct Mail Workability vs Digital Marketing?
DMA: Stands for the Direct Mail Association, a 100 year old leader in direct mail policies, analytics and government advertising compliance.
Four Factors that Make Direct Mail Work?
• The Offer
• The Open Rate
• Repeated Mailings • Call Conversion
1. The Offer
The offer is the “special price” or “reduced price” to entice a customer or patient to visit your office. Below are examples of good offers and bad ones. An offer, to work, cannot be higher than other offers in the same industry! They must be the same or preferably lower.
Two Guidelines for Choosing an Offer:
1) An offer should not be priced above the specials already being offered in the local area.
2) The Offer must address a broad public, not a niche . For example an offer for a discount on a root canal. The offer should be directed to a broad public where the offer will “hit” due to the general consumer’s awareness of that service.
2. The Open Rate
Junk Mail Rarely Opened
Response rate is .002%. This means that for 10,000 pieces of direct mail (such as post cards) the response will be 20 phone calls. Average conversion is 30%, which means 6 new patients will arrive in the dental office.
Aesthetic Mail High Open Rate
Response rate is .005%. This mean for 10,000 pieces of direct mail the response will be 50 phone calls. Average conversion of 30%, which means 15 patients will arrive in the dental office.
3. Repeated Mailings
How Often Do You Mail to the Same List? Mail to the same list for as long as your business is in the community.
Mail to it one or two times and you’ve “primed” your potential customers but will lose the majority of your direct mail marketing dollars. Your public will miss or ignore your marketing message 2 out of every 3 times you communicate it!
Repeatedly mail the same direct mail piece to the same people!
d Mailers #1
#2 #3 #4
ABC Family Dental
4. Call Conversion
The Single Channel
The most important aspect of acquiring new patients from ALL marketing efforts is understanding “The Single Channel.”
The below diagram illustrates how all marketing efforts from all types of marketing and advertising are channeled through a SINGLE person! Every patient coming into the practice for any and all marketing efforts cannot enter the practice or ever see the dentist unless that person goes through the receptionist.
The value of a receptionist and her skill at converting people who inquire about services of the practice is in fact one of the most vital factors in the expansion and growth of any practice. It cannot be overestimated.
Pay Per Click
Every single call generated from ANY type of marketing comes through a SINGLE CHANNEL. And that channel is the Receptionist.
Making All Your Marketing Work
The cost of acquiring new patients is CONTROLLED by the ability of the receptionist to CONVERT new callers (enquirers) into scheduled appointments! The ONLY channel to new patient enquirers entering your practice is through a SINGLE CHANNEL. And that channel is the receptionist!
The Actual Cost of Low Conversion Rates
New Patient Annual Value
The national average value of a dental patient in the first year is between $900 to $1200.
Dental Clinic & Web Marketing, The Wealthy Dentist, The Dentists Network, Dental IQ, Dental Economics and The Levin Group, Inc. conducted surveys and research showing that new patients in their first year, have a national average value of $1,000 per patient.
“The Wealthy Dentist has calculated that the average value of a new patient at a typical dental practice is about $1,400 over the first nine months.” Jim Du Molin
Cost of Patient Acquisition
The average cost for new patients nationwide is $200- $350 per patient. However, most practices have never calculated the actual cost. To guess is to think one knows when he doesn’t. Most practitioners don’t have the personnel or the time to obtain the data. At the end of the day, the cost to obtain a new patient is expensive.
Cost of New Patient Acquisition
Value of New Patient = Within 12 Months
Actual Cost for New Enquirer Not Converted
31 Calls Not Converted Out of Every 40
Note: This example is typical of offices across the country. This office had all calls recorded in November 2016. The receptionist was bright and a 9-year veteran. The conversion rate out of 40 new callers was 9 (a conversion percent of 24%). The national average ranges from 23-
$1,250 X 31 = $38,750
Lost calls Monthly Revenue Loss
$38,750 X 12 = $465,000
Months/year Annual Revenue Loss
$465,000 x 11 years in practice = Over $5 Million
in lost income
Boosting Your Word-of-Mouth
Boosting Your Word-of-Mouth Advertising
What is Word-of-Mouth Advertising?
Definition: An unpaid form of promotion in which satisfied customers tell other people how much they like a business, product or service.
Word-of-mouth advertising is important for every business, as each happy customer can steer dozens of new ones your way. And it’s one of the most credible forms of advertising because a person puts their reputation on the line every time they make a recommendation and that person has nothing to gain but the appreciation of those who are listening. What are you doing to make sure your potential ambassadors feel confident enough in your business to recommend it? What are you doing to trigger word-of-mouth?
Word-of-mouth is triggered when a customer experiences something far beyond what was expected. Slightly exceeding their expectations just won’t do it. You’ve got to go above and beyond the call of duty if you want your customers to talk about you.
Don’t depend on your staff to trigger word-of-mouth by delivering “exceptional customer experience.” Good customer service is sporadic, even in the best establishments. The customer who receives exceptional service today can’t be sure their friends will receive the same tomorrow, so even the most well-served are unlikely to put their necks on the line and make a recommendation. Deep down, customers know service comes from an individual, not from an establishment. And even the best people have bad days.
Physical, nonverbal statements are the most dependable in triggering word-of-mouth. These statements can be architectural, kinetic or generous, but they must go far beyond the boundaries of what’s normal. If you don’t want to be average, why do you insist on being normal? Here are some examples of these statements:
There are 3 elements or ingredients that will boost your word of mouth and create ambassadors that will refer their family and friends.
These are the elements of “Architect,” “ Kinetic” and “Generosity.”
1 Source: Entreprenuer.com (Small Business Encyclopedia) www.entrepreneur.com/encyclopedia/word-of-mouth-advertising
Boosting Your Word-of-Mouth Advertising
Architectural, Kinetic & Generosity
Architectural: Think of the piano store that looks like a huge piano, with black and white keys forming the long awning over the long front porch. Now think of the erupting volcano outside the Mirage in Las Vegas or a glass- bottom floor that allows customers to see what’s happening on the floor below them. Do you remember when McDonalds began building attached playgrounds to all their restaurants?
Example of “Architectural” to generate word-of-mouth: Dental Architecture that says, “Quality high- tech care” to generate word-of-mouth referrals.
Example of “Architectural” to generate word-of-mouth: McDonald’s Playplace generated word-of- mouth for over 20 years.
Examples include: the tossing of fresh fish from one employee to another at Pike Place Market in Seattle. The magical, twirling knives of the tableside chefs at Benihana. Kissing the codfish when you get “screeched in” at any pub in Newfoundland. (A screech is a loud and funny ceremony during which non-Newfoundlanders down a shot of cheap rum, repeat some phrases in
the local dialect and kiss
a codfish. Everyone who visits that wonderful island returns home with a story of being “screeched in.”) While it may at first seem like a kinetic word-of-mouth trigger is a violation of #2 above, “Don’t depend on your staff...,” it’s really
not. A kinetic word-of- mouth trigger is constantly observable by management. It isn’t a “customer service” experience delivered privately, one on one.
Example of “Kinetic” to generate word-of-mouth: Pike Place Fish Co. in Seattle, Washington with their famous “fish throwing.”
Example of “Kinetic” to generate word-of-mouth: Benihana’s famous “twirling knives.”
Are you willing to become known as the restaurant that allows its guests to select--at no charge--their choice of desserts from an expensive dessert menu?
You can cover the hard cost of it in the prices of your entrees and drinks. Flour, butter and sugar are cheap advertising.
Are you the jewelry store that’s willing to become known for replacing watch batteries at no charge, even when the customer hasn’t purchased anything and didn’t buy the watch from your store? Word will spread. And watch batteries cost less than any type of advertising.
Architectural,kinetic,generousity: Thesearetheflour,butterandsugarof effective word-of-mouth. Will you put these rich ingredients into the mouths of your potential word-of-mouth ambassadors?
Budget to deliver the experience that will trigger word-of-mouth.
Sometimes your word-of-mouth budget will be incremental, so that its cost is tied to your customer count. Other times it’ll require a capital investment, so that repayment will have to be withheld from your advertising budget over a period of years. The greatest danger isn’t in over-spending but in under-spending. Under-spending on a word-of-mouth trigger is like buying a ticket that only takes you halfway to Europe.
Don’t promise it in your ads. Although it’s tempting to promise the thing you’re counting
on to trigger word-of-mouth, these promises will only eliminate the possibility of your customers becoming your ambassadors. Why would a customer repeat what you say about yourself in your ads? You must allow your customers to deliver the good news. Don’t rob your ambassadors of their moment in the sun.
Why Internal Referral Marketing Must Marry up With Your External Marketing
Why is it so important to establish an internal referral marketing system as the most vital elment of any marketing campaign?
Foremost, word-of-mouth marketing is the lowest-cost marketing available to any business. For all intents and purposes, it is free! Compare the cost of simply asking for a referral with the costs for: direct mail, fliers, YELP, Demand Force, Facebook ads, news papers, etc.
Each new customer acquired through any other type of marketing is costly. If the cost of a customer is $250 with the marketing dollars being spent, the only method of bringing down that cost is by obtaining a referral from that individual.
If a referral is obtained, due to excellent service, and an excellent internal referral system... then the customer, when he or she refers another person into your business with a referral card, provides two customers for the price of one, thus reducing the cost of acquisition from $125 to $75.
The following diagram illustrates this concept, using the average cost of acquiring a new patient in the dental industry, which averages $250 per patient.
Internal Marketing If done right, lowers ALL your marketing costs!
The national average cost of obtaining a new patient is $250-$300. As this is an average, your cost may be higher or lower. However, it’s a FACT that your cost will continue to rise as more dentists and dental chains compete in the marketplace.
Do the Math
Whatever your cost for obtaining a new patient, just plug your own numbers in and do the math. The solution is to hammer in an internal referral campaign. And put it on steroids!
$250 per Patient
The first generation referral reduces the cost of acquiring a paitent by 1/2, making the cost per patient $125 instead of $250.
A second generation referral comes about from Sally giving a referral card to Alice who comes into the office. Then Alice obtains a referral card and gives it to her husband, who then comes in to the office.
The cost of acquiring the original patient at $250 is now divided by 3, making the cost for each patient $83.
$125 per Patient
$83 per Patient
Handing Out the Care-To-Share Gift Pack: Asking for Referrals!
Care to Share Pack Open
Dialogue for Handing Out The
Handing Out the Vivapak Hygienist Dialogue Guideline
At the end of each hygiene visit, the hygienist uses the following dialogue as a guideline:
As you know, our overall purpose is to educate every pa ent to the level never needing den stry in the future (this is done while poin ng at the mis- sion statement on the wall).
We run an education program for everyone in our community...we call it a “Wellness Program.”
Our program is a community service program which has the purpose to educate families, children and friends to help eliminate their dentistry for a lifetime—we call it the Care-to-Share program.
We use this Care to Share gift box to spread the word. (the Care to Share vivapak is opened while saying this).
The gift is an exam x-rays and cleaning for $69. (or whatever your offer is)
Every time an individual receives this gift... our office donates $100 to $125 to each new patient referred to our office. The reason we do this is to begin their education so we can eliminate their dentistry for a life time.
It would be wonderful if you could help us achieve this purpose....
You can simply pass this along to any friend, family member or anyone you know... (the pa ent is handed the care-to-share vivapak while saying this).
We would love to have pa ents like you... and we can quite honestly help the en re community achieve the goal of Wellness!!
Your Marketing Plan
Dentistry is a highly competitive business. As you can see, this map shows the competing dentists in the marketplace around any office.
The lowest cost marketing for long term practice growth is best accomplished by:
a) Asking for referrals from your existing patients, using the Care to Share packs.
b) Routinely scheduled Neighborhood Mailers using the postal carrier routes within a several-mile radius of your practice address to generate new patients.
c) Repeated contact with your existing patients who are becoming partners with you in their welness program to eliminate future dentistry and who become ambassadors for your practice.
d) Community distribution of your Care to Share materials.
The Problem with Advertising
Advertising can best be defined as the messages paid for by those who send them and are intended to inform or influence people who receive them. These messages may or may not be desired by the recipient. Thus the problem, consumers are often annoyed with the following types of advertising:
Some common examples:
A television commercial – Commercials are viewed as the price we are paying to watch a program we did not pay for. Businesses pay a lot of money to show their commercials to viewers who would do their best to avoid seeing those commercials. Recording programs and fast- forwarding commercials is one way to avoid the receiving of those communications we did not ask for.
Banners on websites – Banners are also viewed as the price we pay to browse the net. YouTube would show you a small 15 second video once in a while before letting the viewer watch the videos they are requesting to see. Some websites charge a subscription fee so they do not have to sell advertising to monetize their sites. In fact, it is considered that the price of subscription entitles the subscriber to not be bothered with the banners.
Spam emails or even opted-in emails – Google, Yahoo and the like go through a lot of expense to prevent spam emails delivered to their users. Today they are even going further to separate out social or promotional emails from other more important emails we receive. Google has placed a promotional tab that has resulted in the users not even being able to see the promotional emails.
Postcards – Junk mail consists of a real item such as a postcard or even a magazine that the advertisers send with regular mail. There is no way to opt out of junk mail other than throwing it into the trash which is what most people do.
Door to door salesmen - This is probably one of the earlier methods of advertising and it really goes without saying that nobody likes to open their door to someone who wants to sell them something.
Telemarketing calls – Most people either hang up as soon as they receive a telemarketing call or try to be polite and suffer through the call until they finally hang up. Caller ID is one resource people have to not engage in conversation with people they do not recognize.
That people screen their calls is further proof of the bigger situation that people are unwilling to accept and engage in a communication they did not ask for even though it may not be an ad or even a sales call. It may be a friend one does not wish to speak with at the time a call is received.
These examples demonstrate that consumers strive to avoid advertising and have numerous ways of doing so. It is not difficult to understand the reason why people do not wish to receive communication for which they did not ask. They consider the ads to be worthless, hence “junk” mail. Same goes with banners, TV and radio commercials, emails and the like.
In light of all these problems, how do we make advertising work?
Advertising can be made to work if the message or the communication is made valuable to the recipient.
This is done in different ways today, not many of which have long term workability. For instance, an advertising message can be hidden in a valuable email such as a newsletter with data the advertiser considers the recipient would be interested in receiving, hence a higher open rate, readership and the potential that the reader would not object to receiving their message.
A sales seminar can be made “valuable” to a dentist if the dentist gets CE units.
Any seminar is made more “valuable” if it is done in a vacation type setting such as Hawaii, Cancun or Las Vegas.
The Viva Solution
Viva has attempted to make advertising work by elevating the quality of the materials that are handed out or mailed while keeping the cost of those products at the levels of their low quality counterparts.
As all the products that Viva uses in its advertising are real products and not digital media, in order to keep the costs of those products low while significantly improving their quality, Viva took on the responsibility of manufacturing these products.
Breakthrough - The Viva Inspiration Series
The Inspiration Series is really the second breakthrough Viva has made in elevating the value of an advertising message.
By adding an inspirational quote from a well known person to the superior quality of the Viva products. Viva has been able to elevate its hand-outs and mailers from the category of junk or worthlessness to a gorgeous piece the recipient would be willing to open.
With the Inspirational Series, Viva has entered the realm of collectibles! This is the other end of the spectrum or scale. If “junk” mail were at the bottom of the scale as being worthless, we would have a “collectible” at the top of that scale.
The Inspiration Series has other additional values; they have a viral effect. The recipient would want to share it with friends or family. This is the ultimate word of mouth program!
They have a “reviews” value. The recipient’s high level of interest in receiving the Inspiration Series free of charge will produce a positive review whether or not posted on Yelp. The positive review will circulate in words and communications.
Local Businesses & Their Employees
There are a multitude of vehicles through which one can market to the community - from Chamber of Commerce, to schools, fairs and many other associations. The simplest external marketing is through use of local area business owners, their employees and their immediate family members.
This is done by giving a Viva Inspirational Bundle to the business owner for himself, his employees and their family members. The contents are shown here.
External Marketing to Local Businesses
How it Works
Every business owner, their employees and family members receive a “Gift” from your office. Small businesses have an average of 4 employees, each employee has an average of 3 people in the household = 1 Inspirational Bundle per business.
Community Marketing Programs
Local Area Businesses & Employees
The business owner’s external marketing is done using the Viva Inspirational Bundles which are given as a gift to the owner for himself and his employees. The presentation card contains an inspirational quote from a famous person and is designed to create a conversation piece. On the back of each presentation card there is an introductory offer for a service. Their family are invited to receive a gift as well. The employees will take these home to show their family members and friends.
Pick your geographic territory as this will be the area or location(s) to distribute the GiftBoxes. Includeallbusinesses,donotbeselective.Thisispartofanownership Program... each business will keep the box and your program will create dialogue about your practice. You can easily distribute 300 to 600 of these over the course of a year.
Make the program simple, assign someone to go to 10 businesses around your geofence once a week for one hour. This will give you 40 gift boxes distributed per month.
How to Hand Out the Bundles
“Hello, is the owner here? Oh! Nice to meet you. My name is _________, I work rightdownthestreetforDr.Jones. Heisrunningadentalhealthcommunityservice program for all the local business owners. He/she wanted me to give you this gift, it’s for you, all your employees and their family members. Our goal is to inspire and give back to our comunity.
“There’s a gift for exam, x-rays and (whatever the offer is). We would love to see you or any of your employees any time in the near future.”
(Business owner will respond)
Simply thank him kindly and tell him he can call the office any time!
Other Community Marketing Avenues
Local Banks, Real Estate Offices
Chamber of Commerce
Girl Scouts, Boy Scouts & other boys and girls clubs
Ladies Clubs, PTA, any organizations where your find mom’s!
Health & Fitness Clubs
Other businesses close by; coffee shops, businesses with employees who “don’t already have a dentist!”
Beauty Salons, Nail Salons
Local Little League, T-Ball, Soccer “moms”
Plan for Neighborhood Ownership
As a first step in any marketing plan, one “draws out” or “outlines” the territory he or she wants to own—as this becomes part of the overall marketing plan to capture a higher market share of services offered by your office.
Determine the radius (in miles) around your office; 1, 2, 3 or more, depending on the population density.
The example to the right is a 2 mile radius, which serves 32,000 households.
Radius of 1 Miles: 12,000 Households
Household mailings should be a minimum of 4 times a year. Calculate how many mailers you need based on the number of households within the radius chosen. In our example, there are 12,000 households x 4 per year (once every 4 months), which comes to 48,000 mailers for the year.
Review your cost per month for your campaign and adjust the campaign size to fit your budget.
1025 N. Brand Blvd, Glendale, CA Households in highlighted Area
To Control and be a Success at Any Endeavor
One Must First Have full Knowledge, Understanding & Continual Education of the Endeavor One has Embarked Upon.
–Greg Hughes, DDS